Kai Kang Dang (Chicken Curry with Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I have to apologise to Meghan - intended to follow this recipe exactly, but lost my nerve. Anyway, the way I made it, it was delicious; a bit different and my family loved it. I used low fat coconut milk, which is a bit watery; added it all at once to the curry paste and boiled a while to reduce. I added the chicken pieces right at the end and simmered gently until just done. I halved the fish sauce and basil - it seemed a bit much. The end result had a well balanced and delicate flavour. BUT: I've dared myself to try the full amount of fish sauce and basil next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I can't say this is a totally fair rating. I didn't have all the coconut milk I needed, so I sub. chix broth and some water. I don't know if more coconut milk would've made it thicker but it was more like soup so I added corn starch to make a "gravy". I also didn't have red curry paste so I used my green. I used snow peas and yellow bell pepper. It had a good taste but not great. We ended up adding peanut butter and chili sauce to our individual servings. Maybe someone else will have better luck following the directions completely. Thanks, it was interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I've made this and it was very good just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a great recipe that can easily be altered, depending on what ingredients you have on hand. I didn't have any frozen veggies, so I added a can of baby corn and some fresh mushrooms along with the bell peppers. Don't be scared of the amount of basil and fish sauce. They balance out the dish very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Good recipe but very mild. I added potatoes instead of the frozen veggies cooking them slightly before adding them to the dish. Don't be afraid of fish sauce. It adds great flavor and won't overpower this dish...just make sure you don't smell it before you add it...it smells pretty gross. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
i, like many here, used only one can of "light" coconut milk. i can't imagine using two, it would have been way too much. i also used half fish sauce and half low-sodium soy. i doubled the amount of curry paste...we like it spicy! (served with Thai chili sauce at the table, which everyone used to spice it up!) i did not used veggies, but did add half a white onion, sliced thin. served over Jasmine rice. i almost never eat seconds, but i could not get enough of this. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This is a wonderful and authentic recipe, my husband and I loved it! I followed the recipe pretty closely. I only used one can of coconut milk (which comes out to 2 cups) and half the curry paste. However, when I make this again I will use the full amount of curry paste but 2 tblsp. of fish sauce is adequate. Everything else is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Seekonk, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Perfect! UPDATE: I had a green curry recipe all picked out tonight and found myself out of green curry paste at the last minute. I revisited this recipe and was thrilled once more. I had to improvise the veggies again, and I amped the curry for heat, but the sauce itself is excellent made as written - especially when served over jasmine rice. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made this last night and it was very good. My husband and I like our food very spicy, so in addition to the red curry paste I added one Fresno chili. I also used 1 can (2 cups total) coconut milk, rather than the 2 1/2 cups called for. It still made a lot of sauce. I changed the veggies to green beans and yellow bell pepper. If you use bell pepper it should go in later than the other veggies or else it will get mushy. I'll definitely make this again - it was just as good as the Thai takeout we get all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Awesome! I didn't have any fish sauce or bamboo shoots so I used 3 Tbsp mashed sardines and 3/4 cup sliced celery instead. I only used one 13.5 can of coconut milk rather than the full amount listed. This was so delicious, easy, and cost effective that I can't wait to make it for guest next. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States