Kai Kang Dang (Chicken Curry with Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I haven't always liked curry - until my husband made this dish. It is extremely flavorful and not too heavy. The amount of basil sounds like a lot, but it's not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is pretty good. I only had green curry paste & I didn't have the bamboo shoots or peppers, but I used a frozen stir-fry veggie mix & that worked well. I also only used one can of coconut milk & that seemed to be enough. I used dried basil, but it would be much better with fresh. It had a slight kick to it. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Almost identical to 'Thai Pineapple Chicken Curry' recipe from this site which i absolutely love.This one is just as good. I always use one can of coconut milk and find that to be plenty.I also like to thicken it up a bit by adding equal parts cornstarch/water.Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Brilliant! I'll make this again and again. I used lite coconut milk and it was still really creamy. Also, I did not have the fresh Thai basil, so I used the regular basil from my garden and it was still really great. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Amazing! I make this all of the time and it is a huge hit with everyone who tries it. My only suggestion is using lots of frozen peas, the taste goes really well with the curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wheaton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Tastes like takeout! The changes I made - I used two cans of coconut milk (light works fine), 1.5 times the amount of curry (I like spicy!), and about 1.5 cups of broccoli that I boiled for about 3 minutes and then drained. I added the veggies too early, if you use fresh ones like me wait until the last 5 minutes of cooking, they get mushy fast. Overall, great recipe and I'll consider making this next time instead of ordering takeout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This was very good! I used only 2 tbsp. of fish sauce and cut the bell peppers because I don't like them but added mushrooms. Other than that, I did everything as suggested. Although, I felt like it was missing something....not sure what because I never cook thai food but it needed a little more flavor. I will use a little more thai curry paste next time and try to figure out what else it needs...but, the recipe is very good and very easy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This was not at all what I expected. I was thinking it was going to be on the sweeter side, but it was not even a little bit sweet. I also couldn't get past the 3 tablespoons of fish sauce in there. When I went to eat it I was completely grossed out thinking about the smell of the fish sauce. However, it did not taste BAD. I used all of the coconut milk that the recipe called for, and there was a LOT of sauce - using 1/2 cup less would probably have been better, as other users suggested. Also doubled the curry, and it was the perfect level of spicy - enough to make your tongue feel zippy, but not enough to make your nose run! I asked my boyfriend if he wanted me to save the leftovers, and he said no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I loved it. There is a great Thai place in town that I've been to that first turned me on to curries. This tasted just like the Red Curry that they serve and it was very easy. I probably will use a little more curry paste next time because it was pretty lightly spiced with the amount in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I make a recipe that's nearly identical. I use frozen green peas for the veggies and use a can of coconut milk. That's too much fish sauce: don't forget, that stuff is fairly high in sodium! This makes an easy and pretty authentic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States