Kai Kang Dang (Chicken Curry with Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Quick and easy recipe to prepare. Also great to improvise. I had left over chicken that I cut up (about 1 1/2 cups). I used leeks (2 med.), spring garlic (2 bulbs), 1 yellow squash, snap peas cut on diagonal 3/4 inch, broccoli flowerets (two stalks) and cilantro (didn't have Thai basil). I sauted all vegetables except the cilantro in a wok with canola and a little sesame oil. Saute the leeks and spring garlic before putting in the other vegetables. I also microwaved the broccoli for 1 1/2 min. before putting in wok. Saute until vegetables still have some crunch. Follow the recipe from there. Delicious over thin rice noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
We loved this. I used one can of coconut milk and probably doubled the curry paste (I used maesri brand, and this was really spicy). I left out the peppers because I hate them, but added a bag of stir fry veggies (broccoli, carrots, snap peas), a small onion, and some ginger. I wish I'd had thai basil, but didn't have time to run to the asian market so I just used italian basil, which was still really good. I can't wait to try it with thai basil though. I cut the fish sauce down to 2 T based on the reviews and added 1 T of low sodium soy sauce. I think though that 3 T would have been fine. I think the quality of the fish sauce makes the difference - good fish sauce never seems too strong to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartersville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Made this last night and my boyfriend and I loved it! I didn't have frozen vegetables, but lightly steamed some broccoli before adding to the sauce. I also added mushrooms and a bit extra red pepper and red curry. Like others I reduced the coconut milk and only ended up using 1 can (about 1 1/2 cups). Served over brown rice and added crushed red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I gave this recipe 3 stars because of the modifications necessary to make it perfect. 1. less coconut milk - one can is more than enough 2. half the fish sauce 3. double or triple the curry Other changes - couldn't find bamboo shoots so I used bean sprouts. Use your favorite fresh and/or frozen veggies....as they make the meal. I couldn't find fresh Thai Basil so I used dried Thai Basil. Do not substitute for any other kind of Basil. This is where most of your flavor comes from. The dried worked but I'm sure fresh would have been that much better. This is a good base reciipe but it's not very tasty without the 3 changes above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Excellent! As good as if not better than you'd get at a restaurant - tasted very authentic. I agree with others that 1 can of coconut milk is plenty, and I substituted more fresh veggies instead of the frozen. Big hit with the husband - will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Goshen, Ohio, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Loved this recipe! Tasted just like what I get at my fav Thai restaurant! Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly but neither my husband or me could even eat it. It smelled awefull and tasted even worse and I love Thai food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Amazing! Mine turned out as restaurant quality! and it's so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My family, who doesn't love spicy food, really enjoyed this dish after a few minor tweaks. I used yellow curry paste instead of red -- it has a sweeter flavor from onion & lemongrass, but still is flavorful. Thai basil wasn't available so I used more readily available Genovese basil (this is the basil most non-specialty grocery stores carry in the fresh herb section). Even with the fish sauce, the dish still needed some salt to enhance the flavor. My husband simply added red pepper hot sauce to his bowl to get reach the spiciness he prefers and he liked every bite! Beyond those minor changes the dish was delish and the kids asked if I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Was looking for a way to use leftover turkey - this worked beautifully - Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penetanguishene, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States