Kai Kang Dang (Chicken Curry with Coconut Milk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
If I could give this 6 stars+ I would. It is by far the best recipe I've found on this site. One can of coconut milk is enough - use it all at once to cook the chicken. We like hot curry too but for this recipe 1 TBSP (of my brand anyway, Patak) was subtle enough. I then threw everything else in together. I used interesting stir fry veggies(unthawed). I cooked everything just long enough for the frozen veggies to be hot but still crunchy which was ample time for the chicken. 3 TBSP of fish sauce is necessary - don't be put off! I used regular fresh basil leaves and it was fine. We can't wait to have this again, and it was sooo easy. Thank you Meghan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Very good. Used one 13.5oz can coconut milk; substituted potatoes for bamboo shoots; used only 2 tablespoons fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Hubby liked it. If he had more curry even though he doubled the recipe amount would have possibly earned it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emrald5769

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This is suuuuuuper tasty! We added more veggies and less meat...love love LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arretederaler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is really good! I used a heaping tbsp of red curry paste and a dash of cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to give it extra kick and did not add in the lime juice at the end. Other than those, stuck closely to the recipe. Delicious!! Definitely something that I will be making again. Thanks, Meghan for a great coconut chicken curry that did not disappoint!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I was really excited about this meal with all the rave reviews, but my husband and i actually thought it was kind of bland - i had made a few changes though to make it healthier which might have reduced flavor. I used low fat coconut milk, 1.5 tbsp fish sauce (the sodium in one tbsp is outrageous!) and lots of curry paste (and some sziracha) - will try a different curry next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caramel0

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Easy and delicious. Running neck and neck with the butter chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY@YAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I was SO hungry and SO excited to try this recipe, I love Thai red curry chicken. After reading the reviews, I only used 1 can of coconut milk instead of adding the extra amount from a second can, and I think that was a mistake. I think the sauce would have been creamier if I had used the full amount the recipe called for. It (the sauce) was very thin. I also had to sub fresh organic basil from my garden for the Thai basil and we don't care for bamboo shoots or frozen mixed veggies so I subbed organic bok choi, organic onion, and organic purple and yellow peppers (all from our CSA, and all worked really well in the dish), and organic cremini mushrooms (which I wouldn't recommend). All in all, the dish was good, yet disappointing. It was very bland. If I were to make it again, I would double the curry paste and the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I really, really enjoyed this. But I didn't rate this FIVE stars because there is room for improvement in the recipe as it is. First, I did find the sauce a bit mild for my taste. It lacked a "wow" factor. It was still super delish, like Thai comfort food though. Second, and this is the big reason for the four stars, I think that the cooking instructions need to be improved upon. If you cut your chicken into bite-size pieces and then brown in the curry-coconut mixture, trust me, your chicken will be cooked through without an additional 15 min. of simmer time. Additionally, you do not need to pre-thaw your veggies, and even frozen, a 15 minute simmer just kills their texture, color and taste. Finally, like others said one can (2 cups) of coconut is more than adequate for the entire recipe. I even increased my chicken to 1 1/2 lbs, and added a box of shitakes to my veggies and everything was still swimming in sauce, and usually, I like a lot of sauce. Here is how I would alter this: 1. Use one can of coconut milk total. I would still use half cup to cook chicken in, and then just add the rest of the can later. 2. Increase the curry paste to 2 or 3 T 2. After my chicken has been browned, I would add everything except the peppers, basil and lime juice, and then cook for only about five minutes--just until the veggies are done. Oh, and I wouldn't bother to thaw them first. 3. I would add the red peppers at the very end, then cut the heat off and pop in the basil and lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fords, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is an amazing recipe, it tastes exactly like my husband's favorite dish from the local Thai restaurant. I did substitute honey from brown sugar and zucchini for bell pepper only because that's what I had on hand. To add spice I added Thai peppers. It was amazing. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States