Kahlua Cake Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by misscoquette
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These were a huge hit!!! I froze mine for six hours and they were still list and sticky but they tasted Great. When I got tired of dunking them in chocolate, I just used regular icing and iced each of them as if they were tiny cup cakes. I made them tonight for the first time and they went quickly and people want me to make them again soon. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. Love It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This recipe needs to be reworked. I used milk instead of water for the cake like always and used scant cups of Kahlua and frosting. I refrigerated the mixture for 2 days and it was still too soft to roll. I ended up spreading the mixture on a cookie sheet and put it in the freezer to set. I'm just going to cut it into small squares and dip that in chocolate. That is if it sets up. If I make these again, I'll probably cut the frosting and Kahlua down by a third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
These tasted okay but were really difficult to get them to stay together and not be a sticky mess plus to get them set up. I might try making them a little less moist next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Left it over night it was still to soft. the chocolate is to thick.to much time consuming, looks very easy but nothing comes out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Everything was to messy. I've made cake pops before, and that cup of Kahlua is way too much Maybe you really intended to say 1/4 or 1/8 cup. I only used 3/4 cup because that was all I had and it still made things to soft and the flavor is way too strong, like booze. A little Kahlua goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
These are good however, I only used ½ cup Kahlua as suggested and I didn't have an issue with the consistency. But, doing this robs the bites of a distinct Kahlua flavor. I also had to use double the milk chocolate to cover the bites. All that said, they came out good and they are tasty even without a strong Kahlua flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
With my changes it gets 5 stars....I'm a recipe tweeker. Read some reviews and based changes on other opinions. So what I did is....cake recipe called for 1 cup water (I never use water...Gram taught me always use milk...moister & tastier) so I subbed 1/4 cup Kahlua with 3/4cup milk in dark chocolate cake mix & baked as directed. Used the 1 cup Kahlua in cake crumble with 1 cup special dark frosting. YOU MUST REFRIG mixture at least 2hrs or more. Rolled small single bite 'meatball sized' easily and put tray in freezer about 30 min before dipping in melted 60% Cocoa chocolate.....made about 90 bonbons/truffles that will make awesome gift box treats. I'm thinking of trying Gran Manier or other orange liqueur next. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I'm extremely disappointed. I followed the video for the cake pops exactly as shown and ended up with a gloppy mess that could only be formed into some resemblance of a ball by washing my hands between each "ball", even after leaving it in the fridge overnight. Her mixture in the video looked more cake like, making me wonder if she had tweaked it. If so, it sure would've been nice to know that. I followed the video because the batter was formable. Ended up using over twice the amount of dipping chocolate called for because the balls were so difficult to roll in the chocolate because they were still gloppy despite freezing for several hours. Piped white chocolate to make them a little more presentable. I was planning on giving these as gifts but am not pleased with final product appearance, although they have a nice flavour. If I make it again, I will definitely reduce the kahlua; hopefully it will still be as flavourable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My mother-in-law requested that I make these for Christmas. I'm nursing, so I didn't taste them, but everyone that tried them really liked them. I did cut down on the amount of Kahlua and icing. I used about 3/4 cup Kahlua and 1/2 cup of icing and they were the perfect texture. I refridgerated the mixture for maybe an hour and dipped them without any issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
These are very sweet and soft. I only used 1/2 cup of kahlua and still was very soft to dip in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Cake Pops

See how to make cake pops with the warm coffee notes of Kahlúa.

Kahlúa Pumpkin Cheesecake

See how to make a rich, marbled pumpkin cheesecake flavored with Kahlúa.

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States