Kaese Spaetzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by foxxygranny
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. The only change that I made was to substitute Fontina and Parmesan cheeses as I did not have Emmentaler and added sliced grape tomatoes and chopped fresh parsley as a garnish. Making spaetzle is easy and much better than boxed macaroni. This will now be my replace my macaroni and cheese recipe. There is nothing like fresh homemade pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Terrific, all the kids loved this!! I added bacon to the onions and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I tried this and it was very good. I had hard time melting the Emmentaler cheese. I bought the cheese from a gourmet food store so I doubt it was because of the cheese. I will try next time some stinky muenster cheese. Stinky cheese would work well in this recipe as it will loose most of its strong aroma. Thanks for this recipe. The Spaetzle is fluffy and great tasting. I used a Spaetzle maker. I suggest using one. Search amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashmarkt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called. In my opinion the nutmeg was a bit overpowering. I used fresh ground nutmeg so that may have been the reason. Next time I will cut back to 1/2 tsp. I used a spaetzle press and I can't imagine not having one for this dish. It fit perfectly over the pot. The holes were large enough for the spatula I used to push the dough through. I used Softex pastry flour. The bulk food store recommends this one for noodles and pastry. The texture of the spaetzle was great. I will make this again and use other suggestions with bacon and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
In all fairness, I usually omit the cheese/onions and use this as a butter spätzle side for pork schnitzel, but this is SUCH a fantastic recipe. I've spent, in total, about 6 months in Germany, and this measures up against (maybe exceeds in terms of texture?) anything I had there, down to the perfect amount of nutmeg. It needs no adjustment--just toss with a tablespoon of butter and sprinkle with salt after it's finished...or, you know, follow the recipe and coat it with delicious Emmentaler cheese. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for an Oktoberfest Party. It was the hit of the party. I had a little trouble pushing the dough through the cheese grater so I used a grill basket which worked good but now I will get a spaetzle maker! This is a great easy dish, I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was my first time making it, and it turned out perfectly. Using a colander took no time to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Only change I made was to use Swiss cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
living in germany for one year and this is a traditional dish that i will definitely be bringing back home with me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
We have been to Germany and tasted the real deal. This meal is as good if not better than any kaese spaetsle that we have had in Germany. Must try for anyone with a taste for German dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJT

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Kugel

See how to make rich, fluffy kugel for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States