Kaese Spaetzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was amazing. I wanted to do it right so I ordered a spetzle maker off of Amazon for cheap and I am glad I did, it made making this so simple. I used Italian blend cheese instead of swiss because we don't like swiss, and the whole family loved it! This will be added to the permanent rotation!! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocolover
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
This took longer than 1 hr. Maybe I was just slow, but I got it done in about 2. Cooking the pasta took a very long time. But it tasted really good and was super easy; I did as 1 reviewer suggested and cut a little hole in a plastic bag and squeezed the dough out of that like it was icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is the real deal. After several trips to Germany we were addicted to Sauerbraten and Spaetzle. This recipe takes us back every time we have it. We change nothing the recipe is right on. We use a stainless steel Spaetzle press and a spider to pull the noodle/dumplings from the boiling water. Every time we make it we complain about the cheese sticking to the pan. We keep saying, next time we won't add the cheese until after we fry the Spaetzle with the onions. But we haven't yet. Just made it today. We had Sauerbraten made in our pressure cooker and the only Spaetzle we use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by foxxygranny
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. The only change that I made was to substitute Fontina and Parmesan cheeses as I did not have Emmentaler and added sliced grape tomatoes and chopped fresh parsley as a garnish. Making spaetzle is easy and much better than boxed macaroni. This will now be my replace my macaroni and cheese recipe. There is nothing like fresh homemade pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Terrific, all the kids loved this!! I added bacon to the onions and it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I tried this and it was very good. I had hard time melting the Emmentaler cheese. I bought the cheese from a gourmet food store so I doubt it was because of the cheese. I will try next time some stinky muenster cheese. Stinky cheese would work well in this recipe as it will loose most of its strong aroma. Thanks for this recipe. The Spaetzle is fluffy and great tasting. I used a Spaetzle maker. I suggest using one. Search amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashmarkt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called. In my opinion the nutmeg was a bit overpowering. I used fresh ground nutmeg so that may have been the reason. Next time I will cut back to 1/2 tsp. I used a spaetzle press and I can't imagine not having one for this dish. It fit perfectly over the pot. The holes were large enough for the spatula I used to push the dough through. I used Softex pastry flour. The bulk food store recommends this one for noodles and pastry. The texture of the spaetzle was great. I will make this again and use other suggestions with bacon and other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
In all fairness, I usually omit the cheese/onions and use this as a butter spätzle side for pork schnitzel, but this is SUCH a fantastic recipe. I've spent, in total, about 6 months in Germany, and this measures up against (maybe exceeds in terms of texture?) anything I had there, down to the perfect amount of nutmeg. It needs no adjustment--just toss with a tablespoon of butter and sprinkle with salt after it's finished...or, you know, follow the recipe and coat it with delicious Emmentaler cheese. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for an Oktoberfest Party. It was the hit of the party. I had a little trouble pushing the dough through the cheese grater so I used a grill basket which worked good but now I will get a spaetzle maker! This is a great easy dish, I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was my first time making it, and it turned out perfectly. Using a colander took no time to finish it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States