Kae's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Great crust. Very flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
My hubby's comment was, "WOW! If chicken pot pie always tasted like this I wouldn't dread it being on the menu! I'd look forward to it!" Guess this is my new go-to pot-pie recipe. I did everything the same except I used chicken instead of turkey and I added a generous handful of frozen pearl onions. YUM! I want to make it again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Really great! I "cheated" and used pre-made pastry crust, but the filling was fantastic. I used frozen vegies and sauteed them in butter with garlic, onions, and mushrooms, to which I also added rosemary. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HYSOL
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This turned out very well. I followed the recipie, with exception on the crust, used 1/2 butter flavored Crisco shortning and 1/2 real butter. I made 1 small mistake by adding uncooked potato,(2 small yellows cut up) Long Story. But, they cooked ok, but sucked some liquid from the sauce..so the pie filling as it sat thickened. But Flavor was VERY good, Crust was perfect. My two pictures show the completed pie & another with the slice cut out. The sauce was thick and perfect at first cut, but as it cooled it thickened. So to finish the left overs I will be making a separate sauce batch to add to it. Very Good. My veggies added were Potato, carrots, peas, celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HYSOL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was very good indeed.... I bought the pie crust. However, I steamed onions, potatoes, carrots and broccoli instead of the veg all. I added fresh corn and frozen peas. It was great. I made it for my son that was here from out of town and he loved it. He has requested it again while he is here for christmas. Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My whole family LOVED this recipe! I made a couple of minor adjustments... I didn't have any evaporated milk, so in its place I used a cup of leftover turkey gravy from Thanksgiving. Also, I used frozen veggies cooked in the microwave. Other than these changes, I followed the recipe exactly. The crust was awesome and baked up nice and flaky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is for the crust only. The shortening taste is overpowering. I don't normally make crusts with shortening - always use butter, but I thought what the heck. I had just made 2 pie crusts with shortening (different recipe) for pecan pies just 4 days earlier with the same shortening I used for the crust to this pot pie. I normally use another pie crust recipe but decided to give this one a shot since the other ones came out so well without the butter. I won't be making this crust ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was very easy and very good! I did make a few mods but followed the basic recipe. I made the roux (as shown) then used 1 cup chix stock, 2/3 cup leftover gravy and a 1/2 cup of evaporated milk. In a separate pan, I carmelized 1/2 of a large onion with 2 stocks celery chopped. Then added 2 small cloves garlic and 1 t. of Poultry seasoning instead of sage. I also added 4 chopped carrots (par boiled) and 1 cup of frozen peas (heated in the micro). Combined and baked. Next time, I will add 1 can of chopped water chestnuts for a little extra texture. This was very tasty- definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was a huge hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The crust is delicious and so is the filling!! I was very happy with this easy to prepare dish! My only suggestion would be to add maybe 1/2 cup more chicken broth - otherwise - perfect! (and definitely put foil around the edges)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States