Kaes-Spaetzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
oohhhh my goodness. DELISH! i used red onions (quartered and sliced) and unsalted butter instead of oil for cooking the onions... and i mixed all but one cup of cheese together before baking, instead of layering (i let the spaetzle/onions sit for a while until cool/company came) then i topped the whole thing with the last cup of cheese. For the swiss cheese, i used 2 cups gruyere, and 1 cup swiss. ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!! better than restaurant!!! (only thing missing in the spaetzle batter was the nutmeg, but i didn't miss it with the finished product! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I accidentally stumbled across this recipe and I'm so glad I did. I love spaetzle and make it certainly more frequently than the average American, but I've always made it with pork roast and served with gravy. This is an excellent change of pace. If you like spaetzle invest in a spaetzle maker. Mine looks like an extra large potato ricer and has a variety of plates to choose from to vary the size of the spaetzle. It's so easy I use it when I make chicken or turkey soup. Rather than buying noodles I make spaetzle and squeeze into the soup when everything else is done cooking. I made this recipe for supper last night. Followed the recipe exactly except I grated fresh nutmeg and fresh pepper across each layer before I added the cheese. I used a bag of shredded swiss cheese since I didn't want to spend $9 on cheese when I wasn't sure if we'd like the recipe. I'm sure it would be even more delicious if you bought better quality cheese. My bag of cheese had 2 cups in it and that worked out fine, although if you really want cheesy go for the whole amount. The onions on the top are so delicious. My husband asked if I added French onion soup mix. (I did not.) He said it reminded him of French onion soup. I did cook the onions in butter rather than oil. It only took 3 Tbsp. of butter. I also forgot to add the vinegar, but that was okay. The thing that really made this meal was what I served with it. I made a simple salad with cucumber, cherry tomatoes, and red onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great Recipe! The spaetzle was a little more difficult to make than we thought it would be. We live in Bavaria right now...so we can just go pick up a package of it to make the preparation much easier. We made the recipe as written. We are definitely keeping this one! But, we are going to mix the onions in with the spaetzle cheese mixture and also add some broccoli to it next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
My boyfriend made this for me and it was DELICIOUS! So simple, yet so good. He added some roasted peppers and it was wonderful. Just as a warning, though, this dish does not reheat well. That is, if you can keep yourself from eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
When my mother died, many of her recipes were lost and I have been searching for a spaetzle recipe that matched hers- this recipe was wonderful- light, fluffly little pillows of pasta. I couldn't find my spaetzle maker so instead I improvised using a grilling basket designed for the outdoor BBQ. I placed the rather large basket over the boiling water, plonked a cup of dough in and smoothed it thru the basket with a spatula. It worked beautifully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe is perfect. Tastes just like my grandmother's, and she always prided herself on the craft of perfect spaetzle. And my father was to happy to hear how well it came out as he always seemed to think it was a little to tricky for him! Suggestion for those making this dish without the special spaetzle seive: Spoon the dough into an extra strength freezer bag and cut the tip off one corner. (xtra strong because all that squeezing of dough will break the back and you will have dumpling spaetzle. It's also nice to have extra dough to spare because I always seem to make quite a mess. I'm going to double the recipe next time! Also, make sure you have some larger sized onions, and caramelize them WELL. Chedder cheese worked great as a substitue and I think i omited the vinegar too. Experiment with your spaetzle .. it may become a favorite dish! My father would serve it instead of mashed potatoes and we would cover it with gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Schokolinda, thank you for sharing!!! This was an absolutely delightful dinner... (I even made the salad suggested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I sent this recipe to my sister in law. She made it for Christmas and said that it was really easy and it is JUST LIKE Grandma's. She said that the carmelized onions took a litle longer than she thought they should, but they were easy to make with a spaetzle maker. My husband had some the day after, microwaved, and said that it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
As a huge spaetzle fan, I of course love this. I always have had spaetzle plain though, with gravy or butter. This is like a really fancy mac and cheese, but better. I made a simple cucumber salad with it ( Chopped cucumbers, tomatoes and onions with a couple TB of apple cider vinagar over it) and it went wonderfully with it. Thanks for the tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I've been making this for years; my SIL is German. Super easy to make!! The noodles cook up really fast. It's also good with some sauteed mushrooms on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States