Kaes-Spaetzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
oohhhh my goodness. DELISH! i used red onions (quartered and sliced) and unsalted butter instead of oil for cooking the onions... and i mixed all but one cup of cheese together before baking, instead of layering (i let the spaetzle/onions sit for a while until cool/company came) then i topped the whole thing with the last cup of cheese. For the swiss cheese, i used 2 cups gruyere, and 1 cup swiss. ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!! better than restaurant!!! (only thing missing in the spaetzle batter was the nutmeg, but i didn't miss it with the finished product! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I've been making this for years; my SIL is German. Super easy to make!! The noodles cook up really fast. It's also good with some sauteed mushrooms on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
i've never had spaetzle so i dont have anything to compare to...i had a hard time with the dough so i just started tearing off small pieces and plopping it in.... the end product was good though and, altho only luke warm on the 1st day, i liked it better the second day...i was sold after i put the german kielbasa recipe over it... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara Gosse
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I have made this recipe twice and there was no way it was a "dough" that could go in a spaetzle maker. I put it in a zip-loc bag and cut the tip to squeezed it into the water. However, the flavor was very good and I will keep making it. After boiling, I panfriend mine with some well cooked sauerkraut. I miss real german food since I moved back to the US and I can not find a recipe for something I used to eat and find in the stores all the time called Schumpfnudel so making this is about as close as I can come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Gosse

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Grayson, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
As a huge spaetzle fan, I of course love this. I always have had spaetzle plain though, with gravy or butter. This is like a really fancy mac and cheese, but better. I made a simple cucumber salad with it ( Chopped cucumbers, tomatoes and onions with a couple TB of apple cider vinagar over it) and it went wonderfully with it. Thanks for the tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I sent this recipe to my sister in law. She made it for Christmas and said that it was really easy and it is JUST LIKE Grandma's. She said that the carmelized onions took a litle longer than she thought they should, but they were easy to make with a spaetzle maker. My husband had some the day after, microwaved, and said that it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe is perfect. Tastes just like my grandmother's, and she always prided herself on the craft of perfect spaetzle. And my father was to happy to hear how well it came out as he always seemed to think it was a little to tricky for him! Suggestion for those making this dish without the special spaetzle seive: Spoon the dough into an extra strength freezer bag and cut the tip off one corner. (xtra strong because all that squeezing of dough will break the back and you will have dumpling spaetzle. It's also nice to have extra dough to spare because I always seem to make quite a mess. I'm going to double the recipe next time! Also, make sure you have some larger sized onions, and caramelize them WELL. Chedder cheese worked great as a substitue and I think i omited the vinegar too. Experiment with your spaetzle .. it may become a favorite dish! My father would serve it instead of mashed potatoes and we would cover it with gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This recipe gets 5 stars for taste and 3 stars for preparation. I thought is was an excellent dish, and even my husband, a meat and potatoes man, ate it right up. However, I had a difficult time making it. I don't have a spaetzle maker so I used a colander with course holes. The dough was too thick (or maybe my colander holes were too thin) and did not drop into the water as it should have. I ended up dropping the dough into the water with a spoon. While the pasta did not look as it should have, it didn't seem to greatly affect the rest of the meal preparation. I also found that the pasta preparation was a bit labor intensive. This might not be a problem for some cooks, but with three young children crawling up my legs, I wasn't able to give my full attention to making the dish as I should have. If I attempt this meal in the future, I might try to cook all the pasta at the same time and then drain the pot so I don't have to remove the pasta with a spoon and to save time. However, as I said earlier, this is a delicious meal that I highly recommend, especially for cooks who like to try new and different dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This was so awesome! I've made this dish for years and never added the vinegar or parsley. It was given to me by a friend who lived in Ulm, Germany. Her Mom always fixed this for them as they were growing up because it was economical. I tried yours using the vinegar and the parsley and what a nice change! I bring this to a lot of Potluck banquets and people raved! Now they rave even more with the new twist from this receipe! Simply Awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
Schokolinda, thank you for sharing!!! This was an absolutely delightful dinner... (I even made the salad suggested.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karena

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States