Kabsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was good but it is definitely missing some things. We (Palestinians) make it with bell peppers and shredded carrots. We also fry some almonds and yellow raisins at the end and sprinkle them on top. I don't use the 7 spices either. I use cardamom, cinnamon, cloves and all spice in addition to the bay leaves and dried lime (black lime) instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is one of my favorite recipes!! I use either chicken or boil lamb. When sautéing the onions and tomatoes I add some red bell pepper. And when I have brought the water out of the rice, I stir in half a can of chickpeas as well then let the rice finish. I use semnah instead of butter because I prefer the taste with rice. I use this dish when I want to impress :-) thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monclova, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sylvania, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by novicechef
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I came across this recipe and couldn't wait to try it for my kids. It was a little of bit of extra work but the end result was well worth it. The rice smells so fragrant and tastes delicious too. My kids devoured it. Thanks for the recipe Zahra !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Used no salt added tomatoes since it's winter right now and used a recipe for baharat to make my own. Was wonderful- will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamel
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My mom's best friend lives in Saudi Arabia, and her husband used to cook this for us when I was younger. While this particular recipe smelled and tasted different than the Kabsa I have had (I know there are many variations to Kabsa, much like the Spanish Paella), it was still good. I do think that the broth used to cook the rice needs more chicken flavor, even after boiling the chicken in it, so next time I would add some boullion. I used 2-3 times more chicken than this recipe called for, and it still seemed like a lot of rice in comparison to the chicken. P.S. My 2.5-year-old daughter ate this dish without hesitation! I think the raisins won her over :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious from the very first mouthful to the last! You can't go wrong with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
We worked in Saudi Arabia for nearly 24 years (we are Canadian) and loved the Saudi people & their wonderful hospitality. I tried this dish in an attempt to recapture the essence of the great food Saudi Arabia offers & was delighted with the result. Thank you Zahra! cmr in Vancouver, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I made this tonight hoping it would be good and my husband and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Thank you. I will be cooking this today. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Chicken Biryani

Watch how to make this top-rated Indian dish.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States