Kabritu Stoba (Dutch Antilles Goat Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This was delicious! WOW! I did add another cup of water during the cooking and then about a half cup of chicken broth. I also put in about 3 T of tomato paste instead of 1. The secret to tenderness is to cook it low and slow. I served this over basmati rice and it got rave reviews! A definite "do again".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was awesome! I followed the directions exactly up to Step 3: I poured all the contents into a crock pot and let it simmer on low for 4 hours. To adapt the recipe to the crock pot, I added 2 additional cups of water and a can of chicken broth. This was my first time trying goat...and I wasn't disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very tasty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This recipe had a sweet flavor. It smelled phenomenal while it was cooking. It was very good. Goat meat tends to be tough, and while we added extra water throughout the cooking, the meat stayed fairly tough. Also, this really wasn't a stew. It ended up yielding only meat and the onions and peppers, there was no extra sauce or broth like with a stew. It would go very well with rice, but was only okay with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Got some goat at the farmer's market and was not sure what to do with it. Tried this recipe for a weeknight dinner, and was very happily rewarded. Delicious, slightly sweet, and the goat is unlike any other meat I have tried. Texture similar to veal, but MUCH more flavorful. I recipe I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Superb flavor, served with fresh spinach salad, unique dish fit for a king
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bright, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jasper, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought this stew was amazing. The end product is a very thick stew--think saucy, not soup. Also, don't be afraid to add as much water as necessary to keep it from sticking, the stew will still be flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'm not sure what flavor this was supposed to have, but the end product was not to our liking. I won't even attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I didn't want to open a can of tomato paste for one spoonful, so I used a tomato-based hot sauce instead. This dish filled the kitchen with amazing aromas, and the nutmeg complements the goat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States