Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
We made these kabobs for Memorial Day this week. As the recipe was stated, I'm sure it would be great, which is why I'm giving it a 4 star rating. After reading the many reviews, I decided to make a few adjustments that sounded good to me also, like the addition of shrimp, a few different vegies, and pineapple. Had the meat marinating for about 6 hours, the vegies only about 3, but made the terrible mistake of putting the fresh pineapple in with the meat. DO NOT DO THIS. There was some sort of a reaction, and it must have started 'cooking' the meat while it marinated....the meat was terrible, we had to literally throw it out. It was mushy and mealy, changed the texture entirely. The pineapple and vegies, however, were delicious, and gone in a flash. Luckily we had hotdogs and hamburgers to have with them.....Operator error on this one, will definitely try this again, with no pineapple in the bag while marinating!! Do try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
311 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
I've experimented with several kabob recipes, and this turned out to be the very best. The combination of honey and teriyaki sauce worked well. I marinated it for 8 hours, and that was sufficient (you don't need the full 24 hours to get the flavor). One suggestion is to not to place meat and vegetables on the same skewer; although it looks pretty, they have different cooking times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Great marinade! It's so simple and tastes so good! I cut the recipe in half and used it for a little over a pound of sirloin. I used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added a little olive oil. I poked the meat with a fork and put it into a ziploc bag and let it marinate overnight. I never marinate meat together with veggies and always grill them separately as they cook at different rates. Overall, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I had to make something for a camping trip for 8 people, I marinated the ingredients in a plastic bag the night before we left and speared them at the camp site. They were amazing. I modified it a little bit, and used only onion, pepper, chicken pineapple and spices (and REAL ginger). People were screaming for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This recipe was a huge hit at our 4th of July cookout!! The flavor turned out delicious!! Next time I'll marinate the veggies separately and not as long as the meat. My mushrooms soaked up all the marinade and were too squishy to put on skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
This is great! I liked it more so on the chicken than the steak, but still a thumbs up. I added a TBSP. of roasted garlic Montreal Chicken seasoning (McCormick) to the chicken & the red pepper Montreal Steak seasoning to the steak marinades, DELICIOUS! Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Marinating the vegetables along with the steak and/or chicken makes these kabobs delicious. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
Excellent flavor. This was my first time making kabobs and it was so easy. The veggies stayed crisp just the way I like them and the meat was so tender and juicy too. Lots of flavor. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I doubled the marinade recipe because it didnt seem like quite enough. The results were amazing. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I made this recipe twice. Since it was so cold outside, I used my George Foreman Grill. Excellent. The next time, I baked the chicken and peppers inside foil packets in the oven. This was just OK, the peppers got too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States