Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is almost exactly the same recipe I use, and I am from Indiana, except I use BEEF Broth and use 2 lbs. of ground chuck. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya28574

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is the best chili I have ever made. I did make some modifications based on other reviews. I used only 1/2 can of chicken broth, and added 1/2 can of beer. I used one can of pinto and one can of kidney beans both drained, but not rinsed. And finally 5 teaspoons of chili powder instead of tablespoons. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
All I can say is I'm glad I don't live in Indiana if this is how Hoosier's enjoy chili. I should have known better, tomato soup and chicken stock don't belong in chili in the first place. I decided to try it again, only this time changing a few things around per other reveiwers comments, it turned out somewhat respectable, but certainly not the best I've ever had. Sorry Justin, I'm tossing this recipe. I guess I'll have to post my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
The best chili recipe I've found - although it was a little thin. Maybe one less can of chicken broth would do the trick. My brother, husband and kids all loved it, and I will definitely make Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Wonderful!! Ihave made this over & over and shared with several folks who love it as much. It IS rather thin but this can be changed by using the juice/paste that comes in cans of Pinto Beans. I love it both ways!! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
fantastic! omit the broth and one can of beans, but include the bean juice. wonderful recipe worth keeping as a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe was very good. I made a whole pot and it was eaten in one sitting. I added macaroni, as that's what my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is the best. I have tried others on this site with good ratings, but this one has them beat. I will stick with this one from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
With some minor modifications this was excellent chili and will become my standing chili recipe. My fiance really liked it and he's a tough critic. I did not use any chicken stock and I'm glad I didn't. I like my chili thick and I believe the stock would have made it more like chili soup. For a little more liquid I put about a half bottle of beer which was the perfect consistency for me. The only other change I made was I added 4 cloves of garlic with the onion and I cut back on the chili powder to 4 tablespoons - which was plenty. I used 3/4 teaspoon of red pepper - which was plenty of spice. I also used Bush's Chili Beans. Topped with cheddar cheese and slatines - YUM! Perfect for a cold night. I can't wait to eat leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States