Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was looking for a tastier chili recipe to try and I have to tell you I love this chili. My husband actually came home from work to have this for lunch and that says alot! I did change a few things, I took out one can of tomato soup and added diced tomatoes with chiles, I also took out one can of chicken broth and added a half bottle of beer and I added a pound of meat. The spices were just the right combination. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Elyria, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!!!!!! I have been looking for a delicious but quick and easy type of chili to make and this is the one! I did follow some other suggestions by substituting beer for the chicken broth and adding 1 can of kidney and pinto beans. The pinto beans that I bought had jalapenos added which helped kick the flavor up. I made a big pot of this chili and it was gone in minutes! Thank you Justin's daddy; this is a definite keeper!!!! : >
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, USA
Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
i follow this recipe exactly and it's amazing. I make it once a week!!! BEST CHILI EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Good recipe! Modifies well- I doubled the meat and used a combo of ground beef and ground turkey. I didn't double the wet ingredients, more like 2/3 double. I used 2 cans tomato soup, 2 cans diced tomatoes, 1/2 bottle of beer, no chx broth. It was really good and our non-adventurous friend loved it. This is the kind of recipe that wins chili cookoffs- good enough to please everyone! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
One of the best chilis I have ever had, besides my mom's. This chili has quite a punch to it, so be careful with the cayenne pepper. My husband and I usually both have to eat this with a Kleenex near by but that's the way we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I looked for years for the perfect chili recipe, that would please a crowd that had completely different palates. This is it! We can even get the kids to eat it, which is a realy accomplishment. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bryant

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was pretty good chili, but not spectacular. It was easy to make, lasted well in a crock pot, and was just about the right heat for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good! I did as others did, and cut the broth in half, added a half can of beer, and I didn't have any Pinto beans, but I had Kidney beans, so I used that. I also didn't have any chili powder and it still turned out great. I browned meat and onions, then threw everything in the slow cooker on low for 3 hours. Hubby even asked me to save the leftovers which is "the" sign that he loved it!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
Very good. As most others did I slightly altered the recipe. I added 2 lbs of ground beef, substituted beef broth for the chicken broth and sub'd one large can of diced tomatoes for one can of the tomato soup. Made this for super bowl and everyone loved it. Perfect amt of spices even for my hubby who likes everything super spicy hot. I did this in the crock on high for 4 hrs and it was great. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I loved this recipe. I added a couple of things. I added one can of white beans and one can of black beans and added some chopped up turkey after thanksgiving and it was the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States