Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I've made this several times, and it's always gone! It has become me standard chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Etravia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I have made this 3 weeks in a row now! My husband can not get enough. Instead of the 2 cans of pinto beans I added 1 can pinto beans and 1 can spicy chili beans. Everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I gave this 4 stars because I had to change the recipe a bit. It was too soupy as is so I added a can of tomato paste, another pound of ground beef and used only one can of chicken broth. I added 3/4 of a Corona beer. It is a fabulous chili with great taste and a kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Awesome start to a chili that continually "WOWs" my superbowl party guests. My modifications to make it less soupy, more hearty? Small cubes of steak instead of ground beef, and more of it (like double). Halve the chicken stock. Make half the tomatoes diced instead of all crushed. Mix up the beans with some tougher dark red kidneys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I got this recipe from my mother who had been making her chili this way since the 1940's. it has always been a crowd pleaser and now my sons' make their chili this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My daughter and her friends made this and none were impressed. The cumin overpowered the dish, it tasted like canned tomato soup and it was way too thin. Chili is supposed to be thick and hearty like a stew, not a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This chili ended up "the best ever", with a few modifications. It started out too soupy, so I simmered it, uncovered, for three hours. I used three tbsp. chili powder and it was plenty spicy. Didn't use beans. Instead of all beef, I used a pound of ground pork and a half pound of ground beef. One thing I'll do different next time is omit the salt, as it was a bit salty. Still, it was the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Full TBSP of ground cumin on 1# of meat is pretty strong. Onion, if fresh is better lightly sauteed. To limit tomato flavor and its acidity try 1/cup of strong coffee. You will be surprised. If 2cans of beans are used, make 1of them the dark red beans. It ads flavor, texture and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
The only change I made was using ground turkey instead of beef. Hubby said it was the best I ever made and I better keep the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Rafferty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Itmay be a regional thing, but I believe that chili should be THICK and meaty. I followed the recipe as written for the first time, but now I know how I will change it. There is not enough meat in it and it is way too soupy. The canned tomato soup gives it a sweetness that is unexpected and I'm not so sure that is a good thing. I only used 3 tablespoons of the chili powder and none of the cayenne pepper. It definitely has a spicy kick. Next time I will follow the advice of the other posters, less chicken broth, more meat, garlic, and maybe some beer! As for now, it will be served over pasta, but next time, hopefully it will be the thick, meaty chili that I come to expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States