Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This chili was pretty good, but not a favorite of ours. I thought it had too much of a tomato taste, or at least more than I like. All three of my boys did eat it without complaining though. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was good, but I tweaked it. I only added 1 cup of chicken broth/soup and I cooked the large, chopped onion in the chicken broth/soup before adding that to the Crock Pot. Two cans of chicken soup would have made this soup - not chili. I added 2 T. Chopped Jarred Garlic and extra Cumin. I did not add the salt and it doesn't need it! It was good. Hubby wanted more heat, I thought it was fine as written. This would be a good chili recipe to take on a cabin trip where traveling with canned goods makes things easier. It was a good dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe for years. It is the best chili I've ever tasted. I don't add cayenne but nothing else is changed about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
couldn't eat it as written - had to add brown sugar, honey, instant potato flakes and lime juice to tone down the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Ive made some adjustments to this chili and how thick I make it... the addition of the chicken broth really makes it more "soupy" style, and we like our chili pretty thick so I add very little, if any. However, this has become our household's go-to recipie for chili! Added bonus is that it is Gluten Free, which is big for our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is a very "safe" chili w/ lots of potential. I ommited the broth & added garlic w/ the onions - great consistency. I like a little kick & thought this recipe was missing that (did only use 4 Tbsp. chili powder, next time stick w/ 5). Overall, "family-friendly" recipe but not for your die-hard chili fan's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe has become "my recipe" for chili. I tried a lot of recipes before I settled on this one. This is not really a thick recipe, but my favorite part of the soup is the broth part anyway. We cut way back on the chili powder because the kids were having a hard time eating it. Other than that, keep the recipe the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
EXCELLENT !!! I use 2lb of ground beef because its a little soupy otherwise. But I like mine a little soupy. And diced tomatoes instead of crushed. Best Chili Ive ever had !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Tremblay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was looking for something a little different than my own recipe. This is perfect- surprisingly sweet and savory at the same tame. The only modification was that I didn't add the salt. For me, there's enough in the tomatoes and stock. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baglady629

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is good for a fast chili. I followed others' suggestions and omitted chicken broth and used a half bottle of beer instead. I liked the thickness, but my husband said it could have been even thicker. Good flavors -- I substituted chipotle chili powder for one of the tablespoons of chili powder -- that gave it a good, smoky quality to it. I'll probably make it again when I need a fast chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States