Just Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I halfed the recipe and also pureed the soup before adding the cheese. It was good. I used it to mix half and half with tomato soup in a bowl for a recipe/idea I saw in Rachael Ray's magazine. It was very good with the tomato soup and some homemade coutons (cubes of bread fried in butter). I chose this recipe because it didn't call for a Velveeta-type cheese. I don't keep that on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a great soup!! I made a few changes. I added a tablespoon flour to the grated cheese, increased the cheese to 4 cups and did a sharp cheddar & medium cheddar mix. I also used half & half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
okay not great kids did not like it at all, more of grow up taste, i really was not overwheled with it either. it just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T and I just wasn't that impressed. It was edible but way too many onions - I would call this recipe cheese and onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I just made this for my family and even my 4 year old son LOVED it. I did make a few changes right out of the gate though, like using half and half instead of milk. I used 4 cups of shredded mild cheddar cheese instead of 3. Added 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce to the veggie mixture. Skipped the baking powder altogether. Also, I added 1/2 cup chopped celery ... mmmmm! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J VanDam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I would give this 6 stars if I could. Don't pay any attention to Jiggy's review. This is by far the BEST cheese soup I have ever had. Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It tasted like onions and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
If You Dont Like Processed Cheese 'Food' Try This!! I made it last night and it was really good and filling. Perfect base to add you favorite ingredients to. This is the only way I have ever been able to pull off Cheese soup. Considering the bizzare changes I made to accomidate what I had availible (broth and veggies) I was surprized that it came out perfect, without any clumps or weird consistency. I started out with precooked veggies, so I just added them to the roux and it was fine! This is easy and friendly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I LOVE cheese. This soup is so perfect, I could cry. I have been looking for a recipe that uses cheddar forever! This is a keeper. Great with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This soup is delicious. I followed the recipe exactly except I pureed the carrots and onions in the blender with some of the broth mixture after they were cooked to make the soup perfectly smooth. The only thing I would change next time is to use sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANASTASIAJANE

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States