Jumbo Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Like most, I changed the recipe slightly. I began with cooking 2 strips of turkey bacon until crisp. I removed the bacon and set aside. I added 2 TBS butter to the grease in the pan. Added 3 thinly sliced green onions and browned with the garlic. Then I put in about 1/2 c. chicken broth, juice from one lemon, a couple TBS of olive oil and followed the recipe after that. It was quick and easy to make. My family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
We added broccoli to the mix, steamed them with the asparagus. We also sauteed shiitake mushrooms in sesame oil, then added the shrimp, then all the other ingredients ( replaced sugar with honey, added fish sauce) and topped with green onions and sesames
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamdesire
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Me and my Daughter loved this meal. I added just a little sprinkle of sea food seasoning, but that was it. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamdesire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
YUMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was a great start to what could become a stellar Asian dish! I agree with other reviewers, skip the added water, it only minimizes the flavor. We automatically added 2-3 cloves of garlic and 1 cup of mushrooms (YUM!). After taste-testing, would add 2 tsp. of hosin sauce & 1/2 tsp chili-garlic paste before serving. Those additions make this dish out-of-this-world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenj5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Kids loved this. Added cornstarch paste to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was okay and easy to make but didn't really wow. I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. I think it could have used some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Very tasty. Used all ingredients recipe called for but grated my ginger and eye balled instead of measuring. I recommend leaving the shrimps whole. I started splitting my shrimp but thought it to be tedious so left most whole. Didnt like the way the split ones curled up . Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was stupendous!!!! I had some super-size shrimp (10/lb) and just split them. Cooked the asparagus in the microwave, 3 min, and had just enough liquid, and saved nutritional value. Used olive oil, and refrigerated ginger, also lite soy sauce - simple and delicious, served it with brown rice. Am making it again this week -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This was delicious! After reading the other reviews I noted that some others found the sherry a little off tasting, so I substituted the sherry with a little rice vinegar and the flavor was perfect for this asian inspired dish. It would have been great over rice but I put it over some buttered fettuccine noodles and that was excellent too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States