Jumbo Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
very good. Like others I added 2 teaspoons of hoisin sauce. I also thickened it with corn starch. I served it over fried rice. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grubbmaster Johnny
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Made this as described and served over fettuccine. I found it relatively easy to make and the results were very good. I think that the sauce to shrimp/asparagus is a little low. I will definitely make this again trying some of the modifications from other raters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grubbmaster Johnny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
This is a teriffic recipe! I made a few changes as well though. I used chicken strips instead of shrimp & sauteed them along with some sliced shitake mushrooms. I sauteed several diced cloves of garlic in sesame oil, cooked the asparagus in chicken broth and saved the broth. When every ingredient was combined I added a tiny bit of cornstarch and served it all over glass noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunny

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
So simple an yet so Delicious! I also had some crab meat I through in Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
As other viewers noted, it needed a bit of spice. But I gave it 3 stars because of the combination of flavors and a good foundation. The first time I made this I followed the recipe (except that I STEAMED the asparagus) The next time, I tweaked it quite a bit and it turned out great -- plus I like to make things easier. I added 1 Tbsp butter to the olive oil, added minced garlic, then the fresh asparagus, trimmed and cut (not pre-cooked), then took a shortcut and added 1/3c of Kikoman Roasted Garlic Teryaki sauce, threw in the shrimp & covered for a couple minutes until they turned pink. Sprinkled cornstarch right into the liquid in the pan for a sauce. Then making it even easier, popped in Uncle Ben's Roasted Garlic Wild Rice pouch in the microwave and Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Very good and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Great easy dinner. I added 2 cloves of minced garlic. I also dissolved 1 Tbs of corn starch in the 2 Tbs of reserved asparagus water so the sauce would be thicker (kind of like what you would get in a Chinese restaurant). I usually serve it with soba noodles (Japanese buckwheat noodles) or brown or white rice. The sauce works for almost any stir-fry veggie/meat combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Like most, I changed the recipe slightly. I began with cooking 2 strips of turkey bacon until crisp. I removed the bacon and set aside. I added 2 TBS butter to the grease in the pan. Added 3 thinly sliced green onions and browned with the garlic. Then I put in about 1/2 c. chicken broth, juice from one lemon, a couple TBS of olive oil and followed the recipe after that. It was quick and easy to make. My family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
We added broccoli to the mix, steamed them with the asparagus. We also sauteed shiitake mushrooms in sesame oil, then added the shrimp, then all the other ingredients ( replaced sugar with honey, added fish sauce) and topped with green onions and sesames
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tamdesire
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Me and my Daughter loved this meal. I added just a little sprinkle of sea food seasoning, but that was it. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamdesire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States