Jumbo Shells Stuffed with Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
Excellent base recipe! I did some substitutions to cut calories a little. Instead of the white sauce I used a vodka marinara. I also used lean-ground italian-style turkey. The filling was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
The shells tasted great but I had some trouble getting the sauce the correct consistency. I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I was pleased with this. It was fairly easy, you just need to pre-plan a little. I thought the filling was very tasty; the pecans were a great additon. I skipped the sherry and used a good swiss instead of the gruyere. I used milk instead of the whipping cream in a effort to scale down on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
My husband and I found this very tasty, but since we do not like the strong taste of sherry we substituted dry white wine and added chopped spinach to the mixture. I also found it helpful to cut back on the shallots. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Quogue, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
Excellent, rich and creamy. I used the long tubular pasta instead of the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Just ok. We didn't save the leftovers. Not a lot of flavor. Looks like it should taste fabulous, but it just doesn't. I made exactly as written except added a bit of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
This was a perfect recipe for my leftover turkey. It was very good and I really loved the sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
Yum :)! Very rich and creamy! The the toasted pecans compliment the rest of the dish very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of using Swiss cheese. It was ok, but to me was missing something. Not to mention that it does take a while to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made some changes to the recipe based on other reviews (adding some spinach, substituting and using milk instead of cream) and the filling turned out dry and crumbly while the sauce evaporated when it baked, making the creation of a sauce a useless expenditure of work. If I made the recipe again, I would add more ricotta to the filling and add less spinach and turkey. I would bake the shells in vodka marinara and just sprinkle the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States