Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
These are awesome!! They're very sweet and yummy. I used a regular sized muffin pan, and the recipe made 18. Instead of baking them for 30 minutes, it took 20-25. After struggling with 2 butter knives to make the topping, I just used my hands to toss it together lightly, and it came out fine. Also, I chopped the apples into small pieces instead of slicing them and used paper liners. It was very easy to remove the muffins from the liners. Highly recommended! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent muffin recipe! I would highly recommend this for fall baking and to anyone who loves apples! I doubled the amout of vanilla and added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. You could easily substitute raisins for the walnuts in this recipe which is really nice. For the topping I used brown sugar, 1 Tbsp. of flour and 2 Tbsp. of quick cooking oats. These baked up beautifully, but for some reason I got a bit more than 6 - oh well more to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
Fantastic muffins! The crumble topping is yummy. I made it with brown sugar instead of white sugar and it was really good. Also, Don't use paper liners, it makes the muffins soggy. I grease my pan really well and I have never had any problems with my muffins sticking. To those who say your muffins didn't rise, your baking powder must be expired...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Great recipe! I made a few adjustments: 1 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 2 1/2 cups diced apples. I used regular sized muffin tins and came out with 15 muffins. I also made a different topping:1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup melted butter. They were perfect! Smelled great, tasted great. See pictures I posted. We will definately make these again! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Bekki Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
What can I say...these muffins are wonderful! I didn't have any walnuts and used ground haselnuts. I also added cinnamon to the topping. They realy are light and fluffy, the topping is sweet and crunchy and the smell while they are baking reminds me of a german christmas market !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Excellent results. Creamed the sugar (used lt.brown), butter, eggs, vanilla and salt quite a LONG time which I read somewhere would help the muffíns really rise. Even sifted the flour as I've often been disappointed by flat muffins. These came out fantastic, apples didn't sink, top was high and crusty, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
We really liked this muffin recipe. After reading reviews, I used 1 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, used a little more than 2 cups apples and made smaller slices to have more apples per muffin and added a little nutmeg to the batter as well. We don't care for nuts so I omitted them. I also made my own crumb topping; 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 cup butter. This topping generously covered 18 regular muffins which this recipe yielded for me. Will definetly make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
Love these muffins! Great recipe for apple lovers. Wouldn't change a thing. Topping is wonderful. Delicious plain or with honey butter. Thanks, Jen AAAAA+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Gregory

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Milford, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Do not have jumbo muffin pan,so I used the reg. size of 12 muffin pan. Shredded the apples,2 cups. Replaced half the butter with apple sauce. Baked 25 min. Very moist and good. Thanks Jen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2005
I'd been looking for a good muffin recipe for company, and these were absolutely delicious! These were just as good if not better the second and third days after I made them. I used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar; I also used granny smith apples which I chopped into small pieces. This recipe made 12 regular muffins and also a mini loaf. I sprayed the pans with cooking spray and had no problems with them sticking to the pan. I will definitely be making these again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States