Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Very good, fluffy muffins. I made as directed and used a regular muffin tin. I used a medium cookie scoop to get a heaping scoop of batter, and doing that gave me exactly 24 muffins, which baked at 375 for 18 minutes and came out beautifully. Next time I'd do 2.5 cups of apples and .75 cup of walnuts, as well as doing half the sugar with brown sugar to give more depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Really yummy and moist. Raised nicely. I thought that the topping would stay more separate but it kind of baked into the muffin, which was fine. Definitely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These are the BEST muffins ever, HOWEVER....I've made them twice now and sprayed the muffin tins and tops of tins, and these muffins just don't want to come out of the pan!!!!! The first time I thought I may have let them cool too long - this time I took them out immediately after removing from the oven - still stick so bad. Wish someone could recommend doing something to stop this - I like the large tins and I don't know of ever seeing paper liners for the larger pans - maybe there are such things - if so, that would do the trick I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I chopped the apple and didn't use the topping this time. (will probably try it next time) They are light and delicious. A hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Since Andrew is allergic to apples, I used pears instead. Very yummy! Thumbs up from all 3 boys + the big guy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
These were very good indeed! Moist and tasty. Instead of cinnamon, I used Apple Pie Spice to give it an extra burst of flavor. I diced the apples as I was using standard size muffin tins. Next time I think I will add maybe a 1/2 cup more. After reading the reviews I did replace 1/4 cup of sugar with brown sugar and I also changed the topping as many reviewers said that it wasn't that impressive and it fell off. I used 2/3 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup flour, 1/4 tsp. of Apple Pie Spice and 2 T. of softened butter and it stayed on the muffins even while eating. This recipe is a keeper and I will definitely make this often for family and friends. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made 12 standard size muffins with this recipe. These muffins have an excellent buttery flavor. I used Granny Smith apples and diced instead of slicing them, left out the walnuts because I didn't have any on hand, and I only used 1 cup of sugar for the muffin batter. I gave these four stars because the crumble topping wasn't that impressive. I didn't think there was enough of it, and it fell off the muffin when you were eating it. The crumble topping on the banana crumb muffin from this site is a much better topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
reviewed by Renee March 2010 I made this with a small adjustment, I added nutmeg and used 1/4 cp brown sugar with 1 cup sugar. The reviews are really helpful. I always read them. I made 6 lg muffins and only needed one big apple. Luv the recipe. Now a fav.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
made these muffins sunday,everybody said they were the (bestest) muffins ever.only changed 2 things added 1tsp of cinnamon and in topping used brown sugar , yes this recipe is a keeper & will make again & again thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! Light and airy. I did not add the struesel to cut down on some of the decadent calories and they were still delicious! I also only used 1 cup sugar and they were still delicious! What a great recipe to use up some of the apples I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States