Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Made the recipe as directed and it was great. Lots of flavor. I used paper cups and did not have a problem. This is a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Overall an excellent recipe, perfect for fresh fall apples. Do yourself a solid and if you can, buy fresh apples from your local farm or farmer's market. There no comparison in flavor between fresh farm produce and produce bought at the grocery store. Some varieties of farm apples can be stored for several months under the right conditions, and still have more flavor then the grocery store version. My one complaint, way too much sugar. I feel most recipes call for way too much sugar, so I always cut in half. I used 1/2 c sugar, and I think with the streusal topping, and ripe apples, when I make this again I'll cut it to 1/4 c sugar in the batter. I also cut the streusal's sugar from 1/2 c to about 3 Tablespoons. I warmed my eggs in hot water while I fluffed the sugar, then added the eggs, I added 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract, 2 t ground cinnamon, 1/4 t ground cloves, 2 1/2 t baking powder, 1/2 c buttermilk instead of milk alternately with the flour, 1 c finely chopped walnuts (in a food processor that I pulsed 5 seconds at a time until I reached my desired consistency), and used fresh finely chopped Pippin Apples that I put in the processor. I folded the walnuts and apples in. I got 16 muffins. Be careful not to overcook! Mine took about 15-18 min at 375 F. My Grandma taught me you can tell if a muffin is done by lightly pressing on the top of the muffin. If it bounces back, it's done, if it pushes in and stays that way, it needs more time! Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RantingsOfaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
These were REALLY great!! Although I think it wouldve been better suited for me to do 7 muffins, rather than 6. They were filled to the brim, and I had a little extra batter leftover. If I had filled all 6 to the 3/4 line like mentioned, probably couldve gotten 7. Will be making again for sure! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreavyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA
Photo by phoebe
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Awesome muffins!!! I halved the recipes and made 7 large-sized muffins, really great even without the walnuts, and i used cinnamon-sugar instead of butter crumbles for the toppings..still taste fantastic. Also, i diced the apples. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Loved these muffins. Smells like heaven when you are baking them. I doubled the recipe and used regular muffin tins and it made over 2 dozen. Also I didn't use the crumble topping and just sprinkled lightly with cinnamon. Also added more cinnamon to the whole recipe than it called for and a little allspice. If you don't add the crumble topping make sure you add extra spice to batter to make up for less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Overall yummy recipe. I like to mix the wet ingredients together, then stir in the dry ingredients. I don't think you need to alternate mixing in the milk with the flour. I also used 1/4 cup of butter with 1/4 applesauce. Then also used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/2 cups white flour. Finally I cut the sugar down to just 3/4 cup which turned out just right. I can't imagine how sweet it would be if you used the full amount called for .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Wonderful muffins -- we made them regular sized. I used 1 cup white flour, 3/4 cup whole wheat and added cinnamon chips. My kids loved them and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
These were GREAT, I made two batches in two days. I cut the apples into chunks and mixed in some walnut "crumbs" with the topping for an extra nutty taste in the topping. Will DEFINATELY keep this recipe on file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
so moist and yummy. The perfect apple muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States