Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made these for my hubby's work Christmas party today and everyone said they were awesome. So chocolate-y! I think these would also be amazing with peanut butter chips added in. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Chocolate Heaven - I just couldn't think of two better words to describe these cookies! They're so chocolately and so chewy these are sure to be a favorite. These cookies stay soft for days - that is if they last that long! This recipe is perfect so if you're new to making cookies follow this recipe exactly and you'll come out with perfect cookies that taste incredible. I let the dough chill for a bit in the fridge and baked them on parchment paper. Be sure to have plenty of milk on hand 'cause your gonna need it for these chocolate treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were good, but they're almost too chocolatey (I know, it's blasphemy, but these are RICH.) I undercooked mine just a bit, and I think that reduced the cakiness quality that other reviewers mentioned. Also, I think I liked these after they were cooled instead of right out of the oven (blasphemy again!) After I measured out the 2/3 cup chips to melt, I just threw the rest of the bag into the batter and it worked well. These would be great with some ice cream and a tall glass of milk - which is what I'll suggest to the folks getting them in cookie baskets this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Overall I am not a huge fan of a chocolate on chocolate cookie. While others thought this recipe was too salty, I actually love the salty taste mixed with chocolate. They jumbo size cookie is also a plus! I followed the recipe as written with the addition of some cinnamon that I added to the batter. Delicious and would absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
One word...YUMMY! These were so good! Very rich and very chocolatey! I used the entire bag of chips and cooked a little less than the suggested time. This resulted in a soft and chewy cookie with nice crisp edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
We all loved these. The only thing that bothered me was the slight saltiness to them. Granted I'm not a big sweets person but cookies should not be that salty (I'd cut the salt in half or at least use unsalted butter - neither of which the recipe states but has been suggested here already.) Otherwise, they were awesome and I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Made a double batch of these cookies-first I made one according to the recipe; the second batch I substituted the dark chips with white, they all flew off the tray! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
If you love dark chocolate, you should love these cookies. They’re wonderful. I made them in a regular size instead of the jumbo size. Perfect. My husband LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These are super chocolaty, but not overly sweet. Just the way I like chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I should have headed the cautions of the cookie being too salty but I didn't since I typically like the salt and chocolate pairings but in this cookie it was too much. Unsalted butter needs to used or Salted butter and 1/2tsp of salt omitted. My family on the other hand didn't mind the saltiness and gobbled these cookies up. I did chill the dough but found it was a mistake or rather I let it chill for too long and the dough become too hard to scoop with a cookie scoop so I had to let it soften some. I made these smaller cookies as well and baked for 13-14minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States