Jumbo Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
What a disappointment these cookies were.... dry and literally fell apart in crumbs. Don't think they made the cut. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I have to say this seems like a great cookie recipe but I don't know why it is categorized as a "breakfast cookie." people, you should not think that this is healthier than a DONUT!! It's a COOKIE! :) Just a friendly reminder from the nutrition police...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
I made these for a brunch that included 8 moms and 19 kids -all I can say is that I came home without a crumb. I did save a few at home and my husband LOVED them!! I loved that I could make such a big cookie and the middle actually baked through. I have a few recommendations: I used rice crispies and chocolate chips, use 1/3 cup scoop (made 32 cookies), put them far apart on the baking sheet because they do spread and finally...let them cool on the tray for the full 5 minutes. As a cookie lover I was overcome by temptation and got a few off the sheet too soon and they fell apart. Be patient and wait it out :) Thanks for the recipe...I will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
WOW! These are great for a healthy snack or breakfast. I changed the all purpose flour to whole wheat flour to make this a much healthier option. You can NOT taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
A great way to get rid of cereal you're just plain sick of eating with milk on it and a nice change from the usual egg sandwich to go in the morning. Definitely better eaten cold than warm out of the oven. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar. I used skim milk instead of water and used a crispy cinnamon toast cereal. These baked up in no time. You can pretty much use any type of cereal and add whatever you want to make them as healthy or more cookie-like as you want depending on who you're cooking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
i live in a boys house and we get food donations that always consist of too much peanut butter and cheerios that we can't eat! so this recipe is perfect for that and it turned out well! i omitted the raisins, doubled the recipe and upped the cheerio cups from 12 to 14 (an entire large box). these have just enough peanut butter flavor but aren't as overpowering as peanut butter cookies. one warning though; 1/2 cup size is LARGE, even for 17 year old boys. i'd cut the size down to 1/3 to even 1/4 cup sizes and tell people to take two instead. Love this though and highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
These were awesome! I made them for us before we went camping. The only thing that I would change is the cereal. I made them a 2nd time using Grape Nuts Trail Mix Crunch and omitted the rasins..Lots better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelhill

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dakota City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Excellent! Aside from switching the cheerios to rice crispies (family preference) I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out great. I will definitely be making them again. I may try adding a few different things next time; nuts, flax, coconut and maybe cinnamon. UPDATE: Just made these again and used rice crispie, all bran, sunflower seeds, flax seeds, chopped almonds and raisins and turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were soooo good! I am often running right on schedule in the mornings, and it will be so handy to have these cookies (that are nutritious) to grab on my way. I substituted Rice Crispies for the Cheerios, and used half the raisins suggested, mainly due to family preference. This will be much better than a doughnut or other unhealthy option. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSLAURA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
These are great! Highly recommend them for an on-the-go breakfast. Here's what I do and they come out perfect every time: I use my mixer on the batter for about 20 seconds before adding the flour, oats and cereal. I've used lots of different cereals, like Captain Crunch, Frosted Flakes, and Cocoa Pebbles. If you use Cheerios, you need to crush them and then the cookies don't turn out dry. I've found that using 3 cups of Rice Krispies and 3 cups of any other cereal works really well and the cookies are just right. (The higher fiber cereals need to be crushed though.) And I add 1/2 bag of milk chocolate chips and leave out the raisins. Thanks for this recipe! It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States