Jumbo Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I used half apple cinnimon cherrios and half rice crispies. I also used harvest apple instant oatmeal and cut back the sugar to 1 cup (sugar in the instant oatmeal made them plenty sweet) and added chocolate chips. My kids went wild for them ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
i didnt change anything. the cheerios made these hard to eat. and by the second day they were rock hard. and i had to throw them away. i might try this again using a differnt cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
A great way to get rid of cereal you're just plain sick of eating with milk on it and a nice change from the usual egg sandwich to go in the morning. Definitely better eaten cold than warm out of the oven. I cut the recipe in half and used 1/2 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown sugar. I used skim milk instead of water and used a crispy cinnamon toast cereal. These baked up in no time. You can pretty much use any type of cereal and add whatever you want to make them as healthy or more cookie-like as you want depending on who you're cooking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These are awesome! I added 2 scoops of Soy Protein Isolate (25 grams of protein), used mini choc chips instead of raisins, stuck with the Cheerios, used whole wheat flour and added two tablespoons of toasted flax seeds. Yes, those are some scary ingredients but these cookies taste delicious. Behold the power of peanut butter and chocolate. Way, way better than any of those breakfast cookies at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fantastic - Yummy-licous!!! I would never change the Cheerios for Rice Krispies - I would however, use Banana Nut Cheerios next time! I made only two changes: I used Buttermilk INSTEAD of the water & I added 1/2 cup chopped dates IN ADDITION to the raisins - came out perfectly!!! Thanks a bunch!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
These are GREAT!!! I made them according to the recipe the first time and my family loved them. The second time, to make them healthier, I subbed bananas for the peanut butter and Kashi Go Lean (has protein and fiber). I pulsed the cereal so it wouldn't be too coarse. I also (I know this negates some of the "healthier") subbed milk chocolate chips for the raisins. What can I tell you?! My family will eat it faster with chocolate chips :) This is a winner no matter how you tweak it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I have to say that these "cookies" were not very tasty right out of the oven. I substitued a few things so I thought that was the problem. However, once they cooled completely (like after an hour), they are sooo good! I can't stop grabbing one each time I go to the kitchen. I substituted 1 1/2 c of the flour with 3/4 c whole wheat pastry flour and 3/4 c. wheat germ. 1/2 cu butter with 1/2 cu applesauce and reduced the amount of water to 1/4c. Also added about 3 TBSP of flaxseed meal. Next time I'm going to try to reduce the sugar - kind of high for a "healthy" snack for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I bake cookies frequently and consider myself somewhat of a cookie expert. This recipe did not turn out well for me. First of all, measuring them out in 1/2 cup size makes them way too big. I mean, I realize it's a "jumbo" cookie but they were literally the size of large saucers. Second, they stuck to the pan. When I attempted to scrape them off, they fell apart. The first 2 pans went into the trash. After that, I added a little flour to the remaining dough (even though the cookie was already too cakey for my tastes, but needed something to hold them together), measured them out in 1/4c. size and greased the pans. They came out better that time but my kids don't care for them at all. I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
After reading the reviews, I switched the cheerios for rice crispies. To add some nutrition to make me not feel that guilty about wanting to eat these for breakfast (or snacks... or anytime..) I used Whole wheat flour, added a few Tbsps of wheat germ, and omitted a 1/2 c. sugar. Tasted great to me, and the familly ate them up!- Except for the peanut butter hater. There's no hiding its there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Yummy! I made these and added some cinnamon because it adds a little more. I substituted granola and raisin bran cereals instead of cheerios and they are great! I used a tablespoon to make each cookie so they weren't too big and cooked for 10-11 minutes. Upon having them for a week, don't make them too big or you won't want to eat them - very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty96

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States