Jumbo Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent! Made this to a "t" except I substituted mini chocolate chips for the raisins and Rice Krispies for the oat cereal. I have also tried Honey Bunches of Oats and that was pretty good too. They were a big hit at my son's daycare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama, New York, USA
Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I couldn't find my raisins (I know they are here somewhere but I didn't want to search too long!) so I subbed dried cranberries instead. I also used All Bran instead of the cheerios (don't know where those are either). The All Bran adds a lot more fiber to these, and goes well with the rest of the ingredients. You can definitely taste the peanut butter, and these are pretty filling. I put 3 cookies on each cookie sheet and used my trigger ice cream scoop to make large cookies. The only other thing I'd prefer would be to make this a bit less cookie like in terms of ingredients, so maybe I'll try less sugar and use applesauce instead of butter next time. However, easy to make and pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The last of these just came out of the oven and they smell great! I agree with others--these are much better after they've cooled. I halved the recipe just incase, subbed Kashi GoLean Crisp/Rice Krispies because that's what I had in the cupboard. I was a little nervous at first because the batter was a bit sticky, but they turned out nice! What a fun way to empty the cupboard AND have a week's breakfasts on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Reilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Turned out great. I used rice krispies and chocolate chips. Kids gobbled them up. Will definitely be making these for our summer camping trips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germfask, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barbeau, Michigan, USA
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I didn't see this as a breakfast cookie, other than it has cereal in it, which I left out. I felt the cookie wouldn't be as yummy with cereal in it. I halved the recipe, used "Just Peanuts" natural peanut butter, and dark chocolate chunks. I scooped the batter onto a cookie sheet and didn't bother flattening them out. They did that own their own. I found these cookies to be delicious and would definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Great cookies! I used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 the butter and added apple sauce, wholewheat flour, mixed Cheerio's and Rice Krispies, no salt as there's enough, for me, in the peanut butter. I was eating the batter between batches. My girlfriends are going to love these at our breakfast meeting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Bedelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were good. I made a few changes...I reduced sugar to 1 cup, added 1/4 cup honey, 2 tbl ground flax and used apple jacks instead of cheerios. I also used less raisin and added cranberry-raisin. They turned out soft and cake-like. Kids still ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made as written except I used cinnamon pecan special K, slightly crushed and added 2 T's flax seed. I too got hard dry bits in cookies. Kids think "they're gross". Sorry but they're going in the bin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Bwhahaha... these are the perfect undercover cookie ever! I almost feel guilty when my husband sneaks one extra before we leave for work in the mornings! A few changes I made was whole wheat flour, subbed 1 cup brown sugar for white, added some cinnamon/nutmeg, omitted the "cereal rings" and made them with dried cranberries rather than raisins. Next time I'll try them with reduced butter and add in some applesauce or a banana...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These cookies are so fun to make & very forgiving. I call them "clean out my pantry cookies" because I get out my large glass measuring bowl and just start dumping in the dregs of all my cereals, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, etc. until I hit the 6 cup line. They’re different every time I make them! For the “base” of the cookies I do substitute in 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup whole wheat flour. Also, if your cookies are flat or spreading too much, try adding 1/3 cup of wheat germ or oat bran to the mixture; you can also substitute non-hydrogenated vegetable shortening for up to half of the butter. (Shortening holds its shape better.) And although I agree that these aren’t exactly healthy for breakfast, they sure are better than average for a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States