Jumbo Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I didn't see this as a breakfast cookie, other than it has cereal in it, which I left out. I felt the cookie wouldn't be as yummy with cereal in it. I halved the recipe, used "Just Peanuts" natural peanut butter, and dark chocolate chunks. I scooped the batter onto a cookie sheet and didn't bother flattening them out. They did that own their own. I found these cookies to be delicious and would definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Great cookies! I used 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 the butter and added apple sauce, wholewheat flour, mixed Cheerio's and Rice Krispies, no salt as there's enough, for me, in the peanut butter. I was eating the batter between batches. My girlfriends are going to love these at our breakfast meeting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
These were good. I made a few changes...I reduced sugar to 1 cup, added 1/4 cup honey, 2 tbl ground flax and used apple jacks instead of cheerios. I also used less raisin and added cranberry-raisin. They turned out soft and cake-like. Kids still ate them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Made as written except I used cinnamon pecan special K, slightly crushed and added 2 T's flax seed. I too got hard dry bits in cookies. Kids think "they're gross". Sorry but they're going in the bin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Keswick, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Bwhahaha... these are the perfect undercover cookie ever! I almost feel guilty when my husband sneaks one extra before we leave for work in the mornings! A few changes I made was whole wheat flour, subbed 1 cup brown sugar for white, added some cinnamon/nutmeg, omitted the "cereal rings" and made them with dried cranberries rather than raisins. Next time I'll try them with reduced butter and add in some applesauce or a banana...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Atari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These cookies are so fun to make & very forgiving. I call them "clean out my pantry cookies" because I get out my large glass measuring bowl and just start dumping in the dregs of all my cereals, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, etc. until I hit the 6 cup line. They’re different every time I make them! For the “base” of the cookies I do substitute in 1 cup brown sugar and 1 cup whole wheat flour. Also, if your cookies are flat or spreading too much, try adding 1/3 cup of wheat germ or oat bran to the mixture; you can also substitute non-hydrogenated vegetable shortening for up to half of the butter. (Shortening holds its shape better.) And although I agree that these aren’t exactly healthy for breakfast, they sure are better than average for a cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
They are not at all good warm and they are better but just ok room temperature. I used trader joe's cheerios and they were chewy and not so good in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPROC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
even with the minor changes i made, i didn't feel like this was a super-amazing cookie. my family loved them though, so i think i will continue tweaking. i used pure cane sugar instead and only used 1 cup since i used sugar frosted flakes as the cereal. i also used whole wheat flour and replaced the raisins with chocolate chips. there was too much peanut butter for my taste, so i will lessen it next time. overall though, great way to change up cereal in to-go form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALULABELLE28

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made these for my boyfriend and his friend to take camping. My boyfriend said he only got one because his friend hid the rest so he could eat them all! Changes I made: used banana nut cherrios, only 1tbl of vanilla, and only used 1/3 cup scoops (I did heap them a bit though). I didn't flatten them too much either. The ones I kept for myself were still chewy and delicious a week later. Definitely going to make these again this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I used half apple cinnimon cherrios and half rice crispies. I also used harvest apple instant oatmeal and cut back the sugar to 1 cup (sugar in the instant oatmeal made them plenty sweet) and added chocolate chips. My kids went wild for them ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States