Jumbo Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
These were pretty good! My kids enjoyed them and I like that they are slightly healthier than a regular old cookie. Not sure it's breakfast worthy though. I took some of the advice from the other reviews and made some changes. First I cut the recipe in half since it made a lot, I used Rice Krispies instead of the O's, used half white and half brown sugar and used whole wheat flour. I also made them "smaller" by using 1/4 cup instead but they were still pretty big. We ate them a few hours after making and they were definitely tasty! The only thing I will say though is that after a couple days they were tasting like they were getting stale and that could be because of the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My family begs for these. I make them for breakfast but honestly, my kids eat them all day long. I use wheat flour. I also substitute chocolate chips for the raisons and use Honey Nut Cheerios.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
great cookies for morning snacks, I used pumpkin to replace the water, still got the moisture in there with a little extra flavour, also used 1 cup WW flour, so good they will be made often here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Although I love the versatility of this recipe, it just didn't work for us. Based on several reviews, I tried a few things. I used Crispix cereal, I do not recommend this. They got hard and chewy. I added honey, applesauce, pecans, chocolate chips, no raisins, wheat germ, half all-purpose and half whole wheat flour, half white and half brown sugar, and milk instead of water. Not only are these not good warm, they need to be FULLY cooled before they really taste good. I tend to slightly under bake my cookies, but it's not recommended with these. I halved the recipe and used an ice cream scoop that is less than 1/2 cup and still ended up with a lot of cookies. Don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
We love these! They bake well and taste great. They are more like a cookie than breakfast, but we eat them with coffee in the morning just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
wonderful! so versitile! i used nutella in place of peanut butter, omitted raisins and added leftover butterscotch chips and choc. chips, they were delightful! we love making these cookies with all our odds and ends of stuff. next time i'm hoping to use lucky charms...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baaramewe
Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Great cookie, not a cookie that you would eat 5 of and not realize it, they take time to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Excellent! Made this to a "t" except I substituted mini chocolate chips for the raisins and Rice Krispies for the oat cereal. I have also tried Honey Bunches of Oats and that was pretty good too. They were a big hit at my son's daycare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama, New York, USA
Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I couldn't find my raisins (I know they are here somewhere but I didn't want to search too long!) so I subbed dried cranberries instead. I also used All Bran instead of the cheerios (don't know where those are either). The All Bran adds a lot more fiber to these, and goes well with the rest of the ingredients. You can definitely taste the peanut butter, and these are pretty filling. I put 3 cookies on each cookie sheet and used my trigger ice cream scoop to make large cookies. The only other thing I'd prefer would be to make this a bit less cookie like in terms of ingredients, so maybe I'll try less sugar and use applesauce instead of butter next time. However, easy to make and pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
The last of these just came out of the oven and they smell great! I agree with others--these are much better after they've cooled. I halved the recipe just incase, subbed Kashi GoLean Crisp/Rice Krispies because that's what I had in the cupboard. I was a little nervous at first because the batter was a bit sticky, but they turned out nice! What a fun way to empty the cupboard AND have a week's breakfasts on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States