Julie's Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I made this for my card group and they loved it! I left out the curry powder and used Miracle Whip instead of mayo & sour cream, I also used red seedless grapes...it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This makes for a very nice lunch for us. I poached my boneless skinless chicken breast in about 1/4 cup water and about the same amount of very garlicy Italian salad dressing. I pan roasted the walnuts and used a mix of golden and regular raisins and Granny Smith apple. I did not use all of the mayo mix. We ate this with a slice of toasted sourdough bread. I left out the avocado because mine was looking a little sad, and many of the reviewers said they left it out. When hubby was eating, he asked what I'd think of adding avocado! So for the leftovers tomorrow I will do just that! Thanks for a nice lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This is the best chicken salad I've had! I've been making this for years now and I always get asked for the recipe. I found in a woman's magazine and they called it Waldorf Chicken Salad (for obvious reasons). I usually use Craisins instead of raisins. Also, instead of boiling the chicken, I baste it with butter and sprinkle with dried rosemary, then bake it in a covered casserole dish at 350 for about 30 mins., or until no longer pink. The rosemary adds a nice flavor. I disagree with the reviewers who said it was too much mayo - if you let the salad sit overnight, the mayo gets absorbed. 1 cup is a perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
not a fan of nuts next time wil use cranberries instead of nuts to give it a sweeter flavor.....i didnt use the raisins or the apple or avocado but i did use a small amount of lemon juice. i used a full cup of mayo because i used 3 pounds of chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hermie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was a hit. Left out the celery and added miracle whip instead of mayo. Boyfriend said he thought this could be a permanent recipe. That means he wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Very tasty; would be better in main apple season, but satisfying enough to not snack between meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe ALL YEAR ROUND...I took a review's advice and did not add onion or peppers but added 1 cup sliced green seedless grapes and 1 cup dried cranberries...including all other ingredients....I also added more mayo....You can kind of tell by the way it folds together....It was goooooood...Debra J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Use half mayo and half plain low fat yogurt for a lighter version, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela
Living In: Hanover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very tasty salad! According to some recommendations, skipped celery and added carrots - turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Mm, this was yummy! My whole family liked it - there were no leftovers. However, I did alter the recipe a bit, as suggested by others. About 1/2 to 2/3 cup of mayo was perfect,and I left out the raisins, walnuts, and celery because we didn't have any on hand. It still tasted great with just apples and grapes though! All in all, this was a great recipe to throw together for a quick but yummy meal. Also tastes great mixed with egg yolks for an interesting twist on deviled eggs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States