Julia's Watermelon Gazpacho Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
It was ok. I just don't think I like gazpacho in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Everyone loved this. Leftovers were still really good a few days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My kids and I slurped this up! And my husband had thirds. Perfect as an accompaniment to grilled meat in the summertime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great summertime recipe. I used slightly less onion and real pineapple chunks rather than just the juice. My vitamix made it super smooth and simple to make. I'll be making this every summer from now on. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
i don't like watermelon very much but i love this! as a mom of 3, i appreciate healthy, easy recipes like this! it has that perfect balance of spicy-sweet. the cucumber and ginger override the watermelon taste. it is a little watery but i don't know how to change that since watermelon and cucumber have such high water content. that's my only criticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
outstanding. i modified it two ways which i think made it even better. 1. i added 1 shallot to the one onion. 2. i used a whole ripe pineapple (removing the core and exterior first) which i pureed in my cusinart. i did this separately and then added the pureed juice to the mixed ingredients. for presentation i cut out watermelon balls and added the sprig of mint. letting it set for an hour or two is fine, but i found it was even better after refrigerating for at least 3 hours. on the 2nd and 3rd days it was even more fantastic. other recipes i reviewed used tomatoes also. DO NOT USE TOMATOES with this recipe. it takes away from the uniqueness of a great cold soup. my wife does not eat watermelon but loves this soup. i now have served it to over 20 people. ALL LOVED IT. thanks Julia jeff lantz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I really liked this as a base recipe. I wanted to use the entire watermelon, so I sort of did this in batches. I used 2 whole jalapenos, one red, one yellow pepper, agave nectar, red onion, blended and tasted as I went alone. I saved some of the gazpacho and made ice cubes out of it. This is great for presentation, and keeps it nice and cold. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This was absolutely delicious. A wonderful combination of sweet and spicy. I skipped the pineapple juice because I didn't have any handy, and I substituted cayenne pepper for the jalepeno as I didn't have one of those on hand either. I had tried a watermelon gazpacho at a local restaurant and they shared that secret substitution. It turned out to be a very successful. I look forward to trying it with the jalepeno next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is DELICIOUS and very refreshing. I made a few changes--I used agave nectar instead of honey, and one small serrano pepper instead of half a jalapeno. Also I used a little more mint and ginger...maybe 1 T more of each. But I kept the rest of the recipe the same--and really this is one of the more delicious easy-to-make summer foods I've prepared! GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Gazpacho

Learn how to make this refreshing, cold-tomato soup from Andalusia, Spain.

Chef John's Gazpacho

See how to make a classic cold Spanish soup.

How to Make White Gazpacho

See how to make a refreshing gazpacho without tomatoes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States