Julia's Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
I brought these to a morning meeting and got universal raves. Better than any I've had. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
These Hot Cross Buns are absolutely wonderful. We will most likely enjoy them year round instead of just at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
My 4 year old nephew ate 3 of these on Good Friday afternoon with coffee. He said to make them again, "a lot". Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Our new family favorite. We don't buy the store brands any more. Yummy, yummy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I have to say I made this twice in 2 days and it turned out different both time-better the second time. Excellent both time first time more like bread second time more like buns I made these for my daughter for school for Sts. Day and they were a hit. Instead of candied fruit I used dried cranberries and they turned out great. I also mixed into the powdered sugar apx. 1 T. real butter...they were good either cold or warmed in the microwave for 45 secs. will do again I made them in my bread maker and took them out after the 2nd rise step and rolled into balls and placed on greased cookie sheet and let them rise covered on top of the stove while the oven warmed up for apx. 45 minutes...the second rise in the bread maker made them lighter and more like buns. Will make again, and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
We love this recipe! I have made it for the past two years at Easter. My husband grew up having these but they were store bought and not very tasty...these impressed him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is just as good, if not better, than my bread machine adaptation of my Mom's wonderful traditional recipe. I added 1/4 tsp. allspice and used 1/2TBS each of lime and lemon juice instead of water for the glaze. M.R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
We loved these. The water/icing sugar mix was way to runny though. My crosses ended up just being a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good. Next time I think I'll up the yeast by 1/2 tsp. as I thought they should have risen a little more (in comparison with my non-machine recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I would like to try this again but add more yeast. Otherwise very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States