Julia's Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
These buns had the *best* flavor of any hot cross buns I've ever tasted. The grated orange peel and other spices went very well together and the flavor was excellent. I used dried cranberries (a.k.a. "Craisins" from Ocean Spray) in place of raisins and that worked very well, too. My only word of caution to other readers about this recipe is that all bread machines are different, and what works in one might not work so well in another. In my machine, these buns, although most definitely edible, did not rise enough, making the bread very dense. If you prefer your buns to me more "fluffy," I would suggest adding an entire 2 oz. packet of yeast, or perhaps try the special "Very Active Dry Yeast" that's made just for bread machines. All in all, my Easter guests enjoyed these buns, and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I think a big part of this tradition is to cut crosses into the buns with floured scissors or sharp knife just before egg-washing them. Then you can spoon the icing into the grooved crosses after they come out of the oven. Also, I think they are supposed to be served hot. (I didn't think the icing in this recipe tasted good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ozfiz
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good. I added about 1/4 more sugar to the batter. To make them more traditional, I made a soft paste with equal parts flour and water, and piped it in crosses before baking the buns. This is the traditional way to make the crosses instead of the icing sugar! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
I brought these to a morning meeting and got universal raves. Better than any I've had. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Very good. Next time I think I'll up the yeast by 1/2 tsp. as I thought they should have risen a little more (in comparison with my non-machine recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
My 4 year old nephew ate 3 of these on Good Friday afternoon with coffee. He said to make them again, "a lot". Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
mine did not rise well i will be adding more yeast to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
The buns were very good and easy to make. It was nice to try and have during Easter time. Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
These Hot Cross Buns are absolutely wonderful. We will most likely enjoy them year round instead of just at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I have to say I made this twice in 2 days and it turned out different both time-better the second time. Excellent both time first time more like bread second time more like buns I made these for my daughter for school for Sts. Day and they were a hit. Instead of candied fruit I used dried cranberries and they turned out great. I also mixed into the powdered sugar apx. 1 T. real butter...they were good either cold or warmed in the microwave for 45 secs. will do again I made them in my bread maker and took them out after the 2nd rise step and rolled into balls and placed on greased cookie sheet and let them rise covered on top of the stove while the oven warmed up for apx. 45 minutes...the second rise in the bread maker made them lighter and more like buns. Will make again, and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States