Julia's Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is an "almost excellent" recipe! With just a few minor modifications, it makes an excellent family meal; my husband loved it and my kids (who are very picky eaters) ate it up! I recommend using four boneless chicken breast halves instead of eight, roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup instead of the regular variety, and water instead of milk. Also, I cooked this meal in the crock pot on HIGH for five (5) hours (instead of on low for twice that time) - the chicken was moist and the potatoes were soft with just the right amount of sauce (or gravy). It actually exceeded my expectatons and turned out to be a very flavorful and filling meal! No leftovers! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
My husband and teenagers are picky eaters but loved this recipe because it has their favorites: Chicken and gravy. This is quick and easy to put together, has large inexpensive portions that are not laden with fat. These are my recommendations/changes: 6 split chicken breast, meat carefully removed from bone. Rinse, pat dry. 7 med red potatoes, scrubbed, skin on & cubed (no larger than ¾”) 2 (10.75 oz) cans Campbell’s healthy choice (low fat/sodium) cream of mushroom soup. 1 soup can water (filtered if you have it) 3 heaping tablespoons of the packaged dry onion mix 2 cups fresh green beans (tips removed, beans cut in half) 2 cups baby carrots Tarragon and garlic powder - divided, sea salt, fresh ground pepper and paprika Layered ingredients starting with green beans, potatoes, carrots. Sprinkle over veggies: 1/8 teaspoon Tarragon, pinch of garlic powder, light on the salt & pepper. Lay chicken pieces over veggies making sure thickest part of chicken points towards crock-pot wall. Mix together the 2 cans of soup, 1 can water, 3 tablespoons of dry onion soup, 1/8 tarragon & 1/8 garlic powder. Salt and pepper to taste. Pour sauce over chicken & vegetables. Sprinkle lightly with paprika. Cook for 5 hours on high making sure after 4 1/2 hrs chicken isn’t already done. If it is, remove meat and cover to keep warm while veggies continue to cook until tender. Sorry about the detail – teaching teenagers to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I replaced the cream of mushroom soup with cream of chicken soup (we don't like mushrooms), replaced the milk with 1/2 cup of water, and omitted the cornstarch because I didn't have any on hand. The result was fantastic!! My fiancee had two helpings and raved about this meal for hours!! Thanks, Sarah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I use the cream of mushroom soup and onion soup mix to make a wonderful eye round roast in the crockpot - I never add any additional liquid to it or cornstarch and the gravy comes out perfect - lots of compliments, so that's how I made this dish and it also came out perfect. So, for everyone who finds this recipe bland, omit the milk and cornstarch - it makes all the difference. If you do want the gravy a little thinner then add no more than 1/4 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this for dinner and my husband coundn't say enough about how delicious it was, and my VERY fussy girls' backed him right up. I think there was too much chicken for 4 people and I would use 4 halves instead of 8 next time to make the ratio of chicken to potatoes more even. Instead of the milk (I used condensed) you could use 2 cans of soup for a thicker sauce but I just added 4 Tbsp. of flour to 4 Tbsp. of melted butter and cooked stirring constantly for a minute until bubbly. I added to the sauce for the last hour as well as some salt, pepper and sprinkled a layer of nutmeg on the top. It tasted great and was plenty thick enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was really great! I made some modifications as others suggested - browned chicken in a skillet with garlic, paprika, salt, pepper, and oregano. I also added these same spices to the sauce. I used 2 cans cream of chicken and a combination of chicken broth, water, and milk instead of the canned milk. I used 4 large chicken breasts and added carrots, diced onion and fresh mushrooms. It cooked in 2 1/2 hours on high. It was kind of soupy so I cut up the chicken and it was a wonderful stew that was good alone and over quick drop biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
We used a bit of advice from other reviews - Cream of chicken soup, water instead of milk - and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
What a great idea! I took this base recipe and, like other reviewers, added my own touches. I made it into more of a stew almost, by adding a sliced onion, 2 carrots cut up, 2 stalks of celery, and some garlic. To the soup sauce I added basil, old bay, herbs de provence, pepper, and extra can of soup, and about 3/4 c chunked velveeta. I used only 1 1/2 cans milk, and doubled the cornstarch. After 3 hrs on low the veggies were still hard, so i cranked it up to high and cooked 2 hrs more. The bf raved and requested it again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Great and easy recipe! I made the mistake of using pre-seasoned chicken, so it was a bit salty - but that was my fault! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is a good base recipe. I added veggies and spices (Herb d'prov. and fine herbs) as well as garlic. I substituted Mushroom soup for Chicken condensed. I also used frozen chicken breasts from M&M meats and they turned out soooo tender! mmmmm. I turned it on low at 7am and ate at 5 pm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States