Julia's Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies In A Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
This recipe won first place in our county fair. My son submitted it and it won! We increased the flour by 1/4 cup (to make 2 cups of flour total). We used two eggs (how does one get a half of an egg??)and we used a layer of white chips and swirled choc/white chips. It all fits in the jar if you pack it in well. We will be making these for Christmas gifts this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe is super easy to put together and are probably the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted. They are a little crispy on the outside but soft and chewy on the inside. I increased the flour to 2 cups and changed to 2 eggs and decreased the chocolate chips to 1-1/2 cups. I also found that if you pack every layer as you go, there is too much room left open at the top of the jar. So I only packed it down at the top before adding a final layer of chocolate chips. (I layered it like this: flour, chocolate chips, flour, brown sugar, flour and chocolate chips. Very pretty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
These are delicious. I cut the recipe in half and filled pint size jars instead quart and the cookies tasted the same and fantastic. We are going to make these at my sons elementary schools craft night for holiday gifts for parents! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This is a GREAT chocolate chip cookie recipie. Easy to make and taste delicious. I used 2 eggs--didn't understand "combine 1 1/2 eggs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I made a dozen of these to give away as party favors for my son's first birthday party. Turned out great, but so much chocolate I decided to call them "Mostly Chocolate Chip Cookies!" I also left the chocolate chips out of the flour mixture so I could create a more layered look in the jar: 1/2 flour mixture, 1c chocolate chips, brown sugar, 1/2 flour mixture, 1c chocolate chips. Can't wait to give them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Cookie were way too sweet. I think that the chocolate chips should be fewer. Also I used 2 eggs, I didn't understand the 1 1/2 eggs. How does one half an egg? Cookies were a bit flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
I doubled this recipe to more-than taste test! I actually omitted the eggs and only used 2 cups of Chocolate Chips instead of 4. This recipe is absolutely the best. I have used the Toll House (Copyright) recipe for years, but will now only use their chips! This is a very rich and crisp cookie! My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
I love this recipe so do my children. It is easy to make with them and then what a pleasure to eat those cookies. You can keep them fresh for several days in a tin box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
The best! We did a fundraiser for our Jr. Bible Quizzing team with them and they were a big hit and people are wanting more. So many wonderful comments from the people who bought them (at $6 per jar). My 8 year old son made them for our family. As a matter of fact, I am going to make a batch for my family right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
A sweet treat! I added chopped walnuts to the second batch I made...yes second, they were a hit with my family and so very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miller Place, New York, USA
Living In: Mullica Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States