Julia's Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies In A Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made these for Christmas gifts this year. I wanted to test the recipe before I gave them to my girlfriends. I've never made CC cookies this way and was a little nervous. They were fantastic!!! Everyone loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shashyp
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I only gave this 4 out of five stars because I didn't actually get to bake the cookies. I made these with my 3rd grade class and they took them home as Christmas gifts for their parents. I did change a few things.... I took another user's advice and upped the flour to 2 cups. I then used 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips and a 1/2 cup of red & green M & M's to make it more festive. I layered it like so: Layer 1: 1 cup flour & 1/4 cup white sugar Layer 2: choc. chips and M&M's Layer 3: 1/2 cup brown sugar Layer 4: 1 cup flour, 1/4 cup white sugar & 3/4 tsp baking soda We found that we really had to pack the individual layers or everything didn't fit. They came out beautifully and the kids had a great time putting together the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shashyp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
i tried it and it failed because i kept haveing to add flour so i rate a 0.5 or 1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
THis is not the best ever chocolate chip cookie. It's good, but i've made better. I only used it because of the jar thing, if you make the cookies to big they spread out to much. It's also not very pretty in the jar, i tried all different ways to layer it to make it look better. I would not make this again or give it as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
1 1/2 EGGS= 1 EGG + 1 EGG WHITE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I made 12 jars of these and every that has baked tham said they turned out very good! Everyone loved having to just add the wet ingredients! I will make these again next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Great! Great! Great! I followed suggestions and made a few add-ons of my own: 2 cups flour, 2 eggs, and using 1 cup white chips, 1 cup semi sweet chips, 1/2 cup walnuts, 1 big tsp cinnamon, and using 2 tsp vanilla. The baking temp is perfect for 8min timing too. All the dry ingredients DID fit with good packing down, and the layering looked beautiful! (flour/baking soda mixed, 1/2 Bwn. Sugar, white sugar, 1/2 brn sugar, cinnamon, ch.chips, walnuts, white chips) I did refridgerate the dough for about 15 minutes before baking, and I think that helped them stay big and puffy without falling flat. These turned out so beautiful and yummy, and the cinnamon really added a holiday feeling that was not overwhelming. This will be my "must use" mix from now on- thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I LOVE this recipe and used it to make 12 jars of cookies in a jar for friends and family -VERY simple to make and they taste SO yummy -worth making even if you do not make them to share in a jar. I modified the recipe. I did not add 1.3/4 eggs, only used 1 egg (this did not affect the taste at all) and only used 1.5 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. This recipe is out of this World, and if you are hesitant to make it, do not! Whenever I attempted to make a homemade cookie before, they never came out this good! FANTASTIC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kyra
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Outstanding cookies and super easy to make! After trying a few "cookie in a jar" recipes, I can pretty much say these were the best looking and tasting cookies that came out of those jars! I did use 2 eggs and upped the flour to 2 cups to compensate. Perfection! This will be my one and only chocolate chip cookie recipe, with or without the jar! Thank you, Julia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
These are by far the best chocolate chip cookies I have made in a long time. I also made these jars the last 2 years for Christmas and they were a big hit! Awesome cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy26

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States