Julia's Best Ever Chocolate Chip Cookies In A Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Just okay, if you're in a pinch and you want to whip up some cookies, then their fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shaker Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made this for a fundraiser (and forgot to take a picture). The jars turned out pretty cute - next time I would put the darker ingredients on the bottom so they will show better, the fabric I put on the lids hid the chocolate chips. I'm only giving this recipe a 3 star rating because the 1 1/2 egg instruction is ridiculous. I instrcuted to use 2 eggs, but I did not mix a batch for myself so I don't know how they turned out. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
I only have one word and that is AMAZING it was delicious and it made an exelent gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I think the author of the recipe may have meant to add one whole egg, and one egg yolk. I have a chewey cookie recipe that calls for just that. If you want a softer cookie use all brown sugar. I hope this helps! Happy baking everyone! Rebecca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
The cookies were superb! I plan on using them as a christmas gift! I would like to make a note as to the using half an egg though, it is very simple (and I am going to add this to th note card on the jars as well) simply beat an egg in a small bowl then take half off that (about 1 1/2 to 2 tbsp depending on the size of the egg)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is a great recipe and I get requests for these cookies all the time. I just make the recipe as a regular cookie mix instead of giving it away and they always come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I made this in the jar and my husband and I agreed that it didn't look as good as the others we had done, so we decided to just go ahead and make them and use a different recipe for holiday gift. The cookies had great flavor, but they went very flat and even stuck to the cookie sheet. By the way, I used 2 eggs because I didn't know how to use 1 1/2. Perhaps this was the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yamhill, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
This is an excellent idea for the kids to make for Christmas gifts. Also for those who don't understand the 1/2 of egg you just beat one egg and then put in a glass measuring cup and remove on half on contents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
3/15/2007 I took orders for cookies in a jar the Christmas 2006 at work. This was the chocolate chip recipe I choose to use and had many complements on the taste of the cookies from those that made them. I sold them to buy Christmas for my 3 Teens, instead of getting a part time job. I encourage other parents to try this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ellis Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This recipe is super easy to put together and are probably the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever tasted. They are a little crispy on the outside but soft and chewy on the inside. I increased the flour to 2 cups and changed to 2 eggs and decreased the chocolate chips to 1-1/2 cups. I also found that if you pack every layer as you go, there is too much room left open at the top of the jar. So I only packed it down at the top before adding a final layer of chocolate chips. (I layered it like this: flour, chocolate chips, flour, brown sugar, flour and chocolate chips. Very pretty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States