Juicy Watermelon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a yummy refreshing treat!!! I used only 1/2 the syrup and my family loves it! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this using the 1/3 cup simple syrup. Huge, huge hit with my husband. I still thought it was a little too sweet. Just an addition--I bought two large watermelons at the end of last summer, made the simple syrup and added the blended watermelon. Then I froze it in one quart containers (the same size as my ice cream machine). We were able to have watermelon sorbet in the middle of winter simply by thawing the mixture and placing it in the ice cream machine and preceding with the recipe as follows. Made my first batch for this summer today and my hubs is a very happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
The watermelon I bought wasn't sweet so the simply syrup was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Awesome! Decrease the sugar a little or try some Agave Nectar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I toned down the sugar per reviewers' suggestions and just added until I got the taste me and the kids agreed on. Super yummy and perfect for the summer heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
It was very good and very refreshing. I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 beause you do have to change the recipe some. After reading the reviews I did cut the water/sugar to 1 cup to the 4 cups of watermelon. And at 1 cup it was still very sweet, I can't imagine if i would of used the 3 called for in the recipe! I also cut the lime juice - I did not want a tart sorbet so I only used one Tablespoon of the lime juice. With those changes it was wonderful. Made it in my ice cream maker and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Definitely decrease the syrup content and it is plenty sweet. I used 1 1/4 c simple syrup and added an extra Tablespoon of lime juice for tartness. I did not strain this as others suggested and it was fine. The few white seeds I missed were floating at the top of the food processed watermelon, and I simply skimmed them off. For best consistency, make in an ice cream maker, then freeze in a tightly covered container for 2-3 hours, opening to stir a few times while freezing. Plan to eat that day. If you freeze this overnight it becomes fairly hard and the texture is that of italian ice. Overall a nice inexpensive and simple recipe and a great way to use up extra watermelon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Very nice and refreshing! It feels like you're cheating! I would have rated this 5 stars but I added a few things. I used a little less water for my simple syrup, 2 1/2 cups instead. Also, I added a dash of salt. It really brings out the watermelon flavor! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
II ended up with a dud watermelon from the grocery store- it was basically pink and not suitable for eating as a snack- I came accross this recipe and was able to salvage said $6 watermelon! I also cut the syrup ration by half and it was a hit! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made this with 1 cup of simple syrup and it was just right. Very refreshing and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States