Juicy Watermelon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This recipe was way too sweet. I would suggest trying this with about 1/3 of the simple syrup, or less if you have a sweet enough melon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
With one cup of simple syup this is easily a 5 star recipe. And so easy. I'll never throw leftover watermelon away again. Tip, go ahead and make your simple syrup as instructed, but only use 1 cup in the sorbet. Save what's left in the fridge for mojitos or whatever strikes you. We always keep some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDIALEIGH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I agree that, written as is, this sorbet would be terribly sweet. I used one cup of simple syrup and almost five cups of watermelon, and it's still pretty sweet, but also really refreshing. I didn't use an ice cream maker, just poured the mixture into a shallow dish and froze it. Then, once it's frozen, you can either scrape it with a fork or put it in a food processor. (Keep in mind that it melts very quickly.) Also, after combining the watermelon pulp with the simple syrup and lime juice, I pressed it through a sieve to get rid of the solids. Because, even though the watermelons say they're 'seedless', they still have those pesky white seeds that would make for an unappetizing final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Well, this was totally hard to rate. I looked at this recipe a few times before deciding to make and seriously read all the reviews. I started out with the 1:1cup ratio water and sugar, the 1/4 lime juice and I hard packed my watermelon in the measurements of 4 cups. I strained the pulp because my watermelon had seeds. I found that my melon was not that sweet...And the lime juice over powered the watermelon flavor. So I had to increase another 1:1cup water and sugar. Still tasted lime juice above the watermelon. So I added another 1:1cup water and sugar and then it wasn't sweet with watermelon flavor....Bottom line was this. I did the exact recipe but I ended up increasing the watermelon to 8 cups of packed watermelon to get the desired flavor. I think if your watermelon is to sweet, then adjust(decrease) your simple syrup ratio to accomendate, if your melon was like mine, you'll have to increase. This recipe is one you need to watch soley because of the watermelon. If I had realized my melon wasn't sweet, I would have just decreased the lime juice. My kids liked it, but my son said he liked it better as juice then frozen. I thought it was spot on the watermelon flavor when the recipe was done, but I would totally wait 24 hours before serving to make sure it's nice and firm. It melts way to quickly after a couple of hours and that was after I used an ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
too sweet. made double amount that fit in my ice cream maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Made this using the 1/3 cup simple syrup. Huge, huge hit with my husband. I still thought it was a little too sweet. Just an addition--I bought two large watermelons at the end of last summer, made the simple syrup and added the blended watermelon. Then I froze it in one quart containers (the same size as my ice cream machine). We were able to have watermelon sorbet in the middle of winter simply by thawing the mixture and placing it in the ice cream machine and preceding with the recipe as follows. Made my first batch for this summer today and my hubs is a very happy man.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I toned down the sugar per reviewers' suggestions and just added until I got the taste me and the kids agreed on. Super yummy and perfect for the summer heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a yummy refreshing treat!!! I used only 1/2 the syrup and my family loves it! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
as is three stars. i tasted the mixture before i froze it and as is TOO SWEET. to remedy it and not waste it i added double the watermelon which i just smashed with a potato masher and didnt do the whole food processor step. i just smashed the watermelon ( 8 cups for the amount of simple syrup specified) and kept the lime juice the same and froze it in those popsicle maker things and dixie cups. my daughter loves these and we didnt waste any watermelon. i think this would also work with canteloupe or peaches its a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Awesome! Decrease the sugar a little or try some Agave Nectar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States