Juicy Watermelon Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
I made this with 1 cup of simple syrup and it was just right. Very refreshing and light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
II ended up with a dud watermelon from the grocery store- it was basically pink and not suitable for eating as a snack- I came accross this recipe and was able to salvage said $6 watermelon! I also cut the syrup ration by half and it was a hit! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DTRUBELA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Very nice and refreshing! It feels like you're cheating! I would have rated this 5 stars but I added a few things. I used a little less water for my simple syrup, 2 1/2 cups instead. Also, I added a dash of salt. It really brings out the watermelon flavor! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainamom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Way to sweet. Has an amazing flavor though and great consistency. I will try again with less simple syup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Definitely decrease the syrup content and it is plenty sweet. I used 1 1/4 c simple syrup and added an extra Tablespoon of lime juice for tartness. I did not strain this as others suggested and it was fine. The few white seeds I missed were floating at the top of the food processed watermelon, and I simply skimmed them off. For best consistency, make in an ice cream maker, then freeze in a tightly covered container for 2-3 hours, opening to stir a few times while freezing. Plan to eat that day. If you freeze this overnight it becomes fairly hard and the texture is that of italian ice. Overall a nice inexpensive and simple recipe and a great way to use up extra watermelon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
It was very good and very refreshing. I only gave it 4 stars instead of 5 beause you do have to change the recipe some. After reading the reviews I did cut the water/sugar to 1 cup to the 4 cups of watermelon. And at 1 cup it was still very sweet, I can't imagine if i would of used the 3 called for in the recipe! I also cut the lime juice - I did not want a tart sorbet so I only used one Tablespoon of the lime juice. With those changes it was wonderful. Made it in my ice cream maker and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
The watermelon I bought wasn't sweet so the simply syrup was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Awesome! Decrease the sugar a little or try some Agave Nectar instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
as is three stars. i tasted the mixture before i froze it and as is TOO SWEET. to remedy it and not waste it i added double the watermelon which i just smashed with a potato masher and didnt do the whole food processor step. i just smashed the watermelon ( 8 cups for the amount of simple syrup specified) and kept the lime juice the same and froze it in those popsicle maker things and dixie cups. my daughter loves these and we didnt waste any watermelon. i think this would also work with canteloupe or peaches its a good starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This is a yummy refreshing treat!!! I used only 1/2 the syrup and my family loves it! I will make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Watermelon Cucumber Juice

This cool, refreshing juice stars cucumbers, watermelon, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States