Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
20 years of Thanksgiving cooking.....this has been the BEST yet, and will be for the next 20! I use a 25 lb bird since I want all the leftovers I can invent. And just as the recipe asks, all the spices on the inside walls of the turkey and veggies and oranges stuffed inside. I use an oven bag so I omitted the broth and champagne. The oven bag captured 3-4 cups of liquid as it was! Rubbed the bird with vegetable oil before securing the bag then cooking @ 350* for 3:45 - 4 hrs. Golden brown, juicy, flavorful. Delicious! Then with all the spices, veggies and oranges still inside, the carcass went into the stock pot and simmered for my best ever turkey soup! 5 plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best recipe I've found to date. Thank you! This will become a staple recipe for all thanksgiving turkeys to follow. No one could believe how tender and juicy the bird was throughout. Unbelievable! A definite must try. The only thing I did that wasn't shown. I sliced oranges as well and used toothpicks to the place them on the skin of the bird. This not only helps keep the foil off the bird but made the skin taste phenomenal. Remove them when you open the foil to finish cooking for the last hour to an hour and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan L. Conrad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
AWESOME!! Brined turkey for 8 hours. used turkey stock instead of chicken broth. Korbel Brut champagne. used everything but carrots. poured champagne and stock over and inside turkey and covered with olive oil and sprinkled garlic powder. made dried spice rub put inside cavity and over turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have hosted 30 Thanksgiving meals, and this is by far the best recipe for moist, juicy, flavorful, fall-off-the bone turkey. The gravy is AMAZING. I didn't want to send leftovers home with guests! Like other reviewers, I mixed the herbs with 1/2 cups butter so the herbs would stick to the skin and I also lifted the skin and rubbed the herb directly on the meat. This recipe is now my standard. Will never go back to other roasting techniques. And the mimosas at 6 am were delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
THIS WAS AMAZING!! The turkey has now become a new favorite of mine! Thanks for sharing :-) HAPPY THANKSGIVING 2014
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I thought it was moist but not flavorful at all. Again, could be that I'm just not used to these spices, but my honest opinion it's that it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Mendez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Great recipe. The turkey was moist and juicy! The house smelled delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mstolty
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Super moist and easy! My first turkey, and couldn't have been happier with how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Made this today for the first time. It was by far the juiciest turkey I have ever made. I didn't use all the spices as I am not a fan of rosemary, so not all that flavorful. I will experiment some more on that. My turkey was almost 23 pounds. I cooked under the foil until it was an hour of being done. (used the rule of thumb 15 minutes per pound). I finished the last 30-45 minutes with the foil open. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Incredibly moist and flavorful! Delicious! Will use this for years to come. Rave reviews from the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Stachon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States