Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Didn't add chicken broth; 15 lb turkey cooked almost 5 hours. Broth was great for noodles and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried to find the perfect turkey recipe over a lot of years and finally I found it! This will be my go to every Thanksgiving. I used a turkey roasting bag and also rubbed some of the seasoning under the skin. I used a dry champagne because I didn't want a sweet gravy. These drippings made a wonderful gravy. The following is how I made my gravy if you are interested. I make my turkey the day before Thanksgiving. Take all the meat off the bone and place in a zip lock bag with enough drippings to keep the turkey moist and then refrigerate. Place the remaining drippings in a zip lock bag and refrigerate overnight. The Next Day: Warm the turkey in a crock pot with just enough added chicken stock to keep moist. The fat in the drippings bag will gel and come to the top of the bag. I skim the fat off the top and warm the remaining drippings in a pan with 8 cups of chicken stock and a couple sprigs of rosemary. Meanwhile in a large pan make a roux by melting 4 tablespoons of butter and then sprinkle ½ cup of flour into butter. (I double this so I have extra roux if I need more thickener) Cook on medium heat for 4 minutes. Gradually add the warmed broth to roux stirring with a wisk. Heat on medium high heat until desired thickness. Salt and pepper to taste. Pour through sifter to remove rosemary and any clumps of roux. Keep warm in pan or crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
With all the rave reviews I was hoping this would be spectacular. I was very disappointed. These ingredients did not make this recipe better. The champagne was a wasted ingredient. It added nothing to the flavor. The vegetables did nothing. Next time I will just use the simple method of salt, pepper, herbs and broth. This recipe called for too much to put in the cavity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I've NEVER tasted white meat so juicy and flavorful before!! I love cranberry sauce and/or gravy, but neither were needed with this bird! BEST TURKEY EVER. We will be using this recipe every year now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
First time ever making turkey n I made this recipe.. Wow this was amazing!!!my family totally loved it.even my dad who doesn't like turkey loved it.i made a few changes tho to the veggies I added lemon wedges n I stuffed it with stuffing .n I marinated the turkey for 24 hours with champagne n chicken broth.my turkey was 21 lbs so I used 2 bottles of champagne n about 5 cans of chicken both..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I used this recipe today and it was perfect - everyone loved it. Plan on using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Very juicy and tasty. Everyone commented on how moist the white meat was. I cooked it at 325 degrees because I was scared it would dry out at the higher temp, but I think it would have been fine. I mixed the herbs in butter and rubbed it into the cavity and rubbed some butter under the skin. Only bad thing was how little is left over because people couldn't get enough of it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueshark77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
There is not enough stars to rate this recipe!!!! I searched for years for that ultimate moist and juicy turkey and here it is!!!! This recipe is out if this world!!! Thank you for sharing. I used a brine mixture containing most of the herbs listed above along with salt garlic pepper corns and brown sugar and left the turkey soak over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was a great turkey. We had an 18 pounder, and we cooked it 4 hours, uncovered the lat hour. I suggest breast down for the first 2 hours, covered, then flip on its back, cover it, then last hour uncovered breast up. I did not have sage, used fresh parsley, and only used a quqrter orange. But it was juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Simply the best turkey I have made in the twenty years I have been making them! I had a 16 pound turkey, followed the recipe exactly, but needed five hours total, with four covered and one foil pulled back. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States