Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Made this turkey today for my first ever 10+ people family dinner!! It was also my very first turkey and let me just say that I am SO glad I used this recipe!!!!! Like everybody said, it was super juicy and I think it was really flavorful. I did the same as a lot of other reviewers and prepped the turkey the night before. Subbed the champagne for ginger ale, and used fresh herbs instead of dry ones (also rubbed them and butter on and under skin AFTER pouring the broth and ginger ale on the turkey). My turkey was 14 Lbs and it took about 3.5 hours and it was delicious. Juice was literally running out everywhere when we were carving it. Please don't be scared to use this recipe, I was so nervous, but this really is fool proof and you will for sure be the star turkey maker in your family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
OMG, I made this with a 4 lb. chicken on Monday and it was THE BEST chicken I have ever made. I DO NOT eat white meat, I think it's too dry and I just don't like it. I tried it on this chicken, and I ate the white meat first!!!!!!!!!! It was so moist and tender, I just couldn't believe it. I have a 9 lb. turkey in the freezer that I'm going to make over the Christmas/New Years holiday and you can BET I'll be making it like this. The only thing I did different was I used White Zin (because that's what I had) and I didn't use Tyme, because I don't like it, so I substituted poultry seasoning and sage. I also didn't add anything in the cavity mainly because I forgot!!!! Again, OMG was it good!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I used this recipe for its high regards in making my first Thanksgiving turkey!. It was delicious. I used a 20 pound turkey…cooked in a bag in a roaster…used butter to spread the herbs in the cavity and under the skin. The gravy from the dripping was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Fabulous recipe, but TIPS! I made this last night, just as directed though I substituted sparkling cider for the champagne (trying to save a stop at the liquor store and it sounded good, shame on me). I do NOT recommend this. I will in the future go for a white wine or dry champagne, as I was not a fan of the sweetness from using the cider. Also, the orange in the cavity sounded so fancy and like it would have this nice light aroma of oranges. Nope, tastes like sweet orange turkey. However, I can see where this recipe is going, and I am giving it 5 stars because never in my life have I had turkey this moist. With the exception of my personal taste preferences, this is a fantastic recipe! I'll still eat the turkey, just have to find the right recipes for the meat :) As far as cooking the turkey, I used a roaster on 350 for about 2.5 hours (the turkey was in a bag), and this was for a 12# bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookSmithery

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe this Thanksgiving. Since it was my first time making the turkey and ham, I was so nervous. Turkey came out great everyone loved it. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was amazing and super simple! Hands down, the juiciest turkey with the least amount of effort. Make sure to use a DEEP baking/roasting dish as the liquid really bubbles up. Same goes for foil tent over the turkey, keep it crimped on the pan to avoid an in oven mess! I'm going to try a bag for this reason next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Perfect turkey, every single time. It is so moist and delicious. The juices make the BEST gravy. I am the only one allowed to cook the turkey for holidays now. The only thing extra I do is brine the turkey a day before and adjust cooking times depending on the bird's weight. I am so grateful for this recipe. It's the one I used for my first Thanksgiving I cooked and will use it until my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have to agree with everybody else, this is the best turkey I've ever made. I marinated the turkey the night before and stuffed it before cooking. Everybody loved it. My sister came back on Friday for the left overs. I even posted it in my fb..that's how proud I was about it...Thank you for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First timer, yet best turkey I ever tasted, most moist, and so tender I carved half with just my bare hands. No champagne, used red wine. Added 1 quart of drippings, shredded meat, juices, and skin from a pork roast a few days earlier. Skipped the skin crisping stage and kept it in the foil. Substituted salt with seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made my first turkey this Thanksgiving and followed this recipe. The turkey was awesome and came out super juicy! I have never tasted a turkey like it. The meat was falling off of the bone so well we barely needed a knife to cut the turkey. I marinated the turkey (with all spices the recipe calls for) in the champagne and chicken broth the day before and baked for about 6 hours on 250 degrees. Then, reheated it an hour before Thanksgiving dinner on 350. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States