Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
We used this recipe this Thanksgiving and the turkey came out EXCELLENT! We marinaded the turkey in the champagne and broth for 24 hours before and rubbed the seasonings in the turkey cavity and under the skin and stuffed with carrots, onions, celery and orange as directed. The result was a juicy turkey (even the white meat) that was full of flavor!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This was the best turkey we've ever had! I substituted Ginger Ale for the wine. It was Juicy and delicious even when cold the next day!!! It was so good, I'm making it for Christmas too!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used this recipe last night and it was truly the most moist (perfect) turkey I have ever done. I cooked a 20 pound Norbest turkey and I used a cooking bag, in which I put everything as this recipe says , including the whole bottle of champagne(Blanc Noir variety).It was perfect, Kirsten! Other notes: I didn't add the carrots because I don't like carrots :-) I rubbed the outside with Olive Oil and some salt and pepper after pouring in the champagne. Although the included temperature gauge popped out at 3 hours, I cooked it another half hour. The white meat was delicious, and not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Great recipe, It was very moist, but I did change up a couple things! The night before, I coated the turkey with Kosher salt and let it sit over night in the fridge in a pan of water. The next day I rinsed the turkey off and followed the recipe but I also coated the turkey with margerine and Instead of using foil, I used an oven bag! Everything I changed up also enhances how moist the turkey will be! It was so moist that the meat fell off the bone!! So good! mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @},--'-----

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksmiley39
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I've never made a turkey before, mostly because I never had to for Thanksgiving and I was always afraid to mess up something so big and expensive. Well, my husband brought a free turkey home from work for Christmas, and I found this recipe. Today, we both got together to make this 15lb. turkey. I have to say, it's probably the best turkey I've ever had!!! We were a great team, (I prepared everything, but he got to clean out the turkey and stuff it). The turkey was in the oven about 3 hrs., then I opened the foil up for 30 mins. as directed. After it came out and sat for 15 minutes, the electric knife cut that turkey like it was meant for display; better than my Mom's on any Thanksgiving day. I called and told her we would make it this year. Thankyou for a wonderful recipe even I can follow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksmiley39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I made this today. It was absolutely the best turkey I've ever done. The only thing I did differently was to cook it outside on my gas grill which has a temperature gauge, so it basically worked like an oven. Will definitely do this again. Everyone raved about the turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Thank you for the awesome turkey recipe!! I normally make a ham as the fam love ham:) But decided to be traditional this year. It was so juicy!! The cooking time was longer for me, it actually took 5 hrs for a 13 lb bird {could be my oven)but not a dry piece of meat and the flavor was awesome!! I don't even really care for turkey all that much and I can't stop eating the leftovers!! I just had a cold turkey wrap with home made dill dip, lettuce and cheese! (I'm in love with home made dill dip and dip everything in it from veggies to ham!) Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, it made our thanksgiving dinner great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahnomen, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Well, seriously, I love to try new ways of doing turkey and this is, so far, the BEST! It's hard to overcook this turkey because the meat is SO moist and FULL of proper flavor. I mixed up all and lots of the herbs and rubbed the cavity AND 'under' the skin and over the skin. In pouring the ginger ale or Champagne over the turkey be careful and don't pour much over because it washes the herbs off. Maybe rubbing butter on first will help the herbs 'stick' so they won't wash off. I think the champagne is better than the ginger ale only because we found the gravy ended up a 'bit' sweet from the pop and needed to be compensated by more salt and pepper. Some people actually liked the slight sweet taste for a change. No more brining the turkey. No more turning turkey upside down. This is simple, and the white meat is as moist as the dark and NOT dry. We've cooked a lot of turkeys but this is a keeper. That's not to say we won't try another recipe. It's fun to experiment. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Absolutley the best oven baked turkey I have ever made. It was a perfect mix of spice and flavor... and the juice!!!...There wasn't a dry piece of meat in the bunch. Don't even think about needing gravy!! Even warming it up the day after, the flavors and juices were there. My relatives couldn't stop commenting on how good the turkey was. Fantastic!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was the first turkey i've ever made, and it was AWESOME. The gravy from this champagne recipe is to die for. MmmMmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States