Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was so easy and the turkey was the highlight of the meal due to its nice flavor and moistness. Will definitely do this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used this recipe to make a 24 lb. turkey on Thanksgiving. I used a bag to roast and substituted ginger ale for the champagne as another cook suggested. It turned out wonderful! ? Tender & juicy - falling off the bone...and the gravy was amazing (and plentiful)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This will be my second year making this recipe. I loved it last year and have it saved so I can use it whenever needed :) I see some questions on the champagne I bought Brut but any dry/extra dry will be great. Avoid any sweet/pink champagne for cooking. Also for parents using champagne its fine with cooking as it burns the alcohol and is used more for moisture and flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
This turned out awesome for me! I used a roaster oven and had a 20 lb. turkey. I used a Tom Douglas Turkey Rub in place of the herbs - they had the same herbs pretty much. I buttered the turkey inside and out before putting the rub on then I used a can of chicken broth and the bottle of champagne. I don't usually care much for turkey but this was the best I have tasted - it was so, so moist.I plan on doing this next year - maybe throughout the year. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I cooked a 20 # bird and the legs were falling off in 4 hours, but the breast was still moist. I didn't do the whole line the pan with foil and wrap it up around, I simply covered the pan tightly with foil. It would probably work with one of the old fashioned granite roasters too! Will definitely be cooking all my turkeys this way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I tried this as my very first turkey and it came out great! It was juicy and tender. I received lots of compliments. I did change it alittle. I used all fresh seasonings and added ginger ale instead of champagne. Was a great turkey receipt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I seriously would have given this 10 stars if I could have. This is, hands down, the best turkey I have ever had/made. I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out wonderfully. I am not a dark meat eater, I don't generally enjoy it, but this recipe made ALL the meat so flavorful it was AMAZING. The drippings/stock from the turkey make an amazing gravy too! Hello school lunch memories! The next day I had some shredded turkey along with the left over gravy, over mashed potatoes. I was 9 years old again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Was really intrigued by this recipe and decided to risk a fresh turkey and fix it. All I had for a sparkling wine was an Asti spomonte that smelled very sweet when it was opened. Went for broke and used it anyway. It even didn't smell that great while it was cooking, so I was worried the whole time. I used a cooking bag and it was done In a little over two hours for a 14 pound turkey. The turkey had a pop up button it it was right on for the doneness. The results.....FABULOUS!!!!!! The skin was perfectly browned(from the sugar in the wine I am sure), the meat was juicy and tender and the gravy from the juices was outstanding. What I would do differently next time is pour the sparkling wine over and in the bird, then rub with olive oil and then the spices. Pouring the wine over the bird after rubbing with the spices just rinsed all the spices off the top. I think any sparkling white wine would do, tho would not use such a sweet wine the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Had to give this recipe 5 stars even though I didn't prepare it exactly as written. My friend had already made her favorite stuffing (a very meaty stuffing with crasins). But, I believe it's the roasting process that is the key! We used 1/2 the amount of spices, stuffed the turkey, poured in the champagne and broth, and wrapped as directed. Done in 4 1/4 hours at 360 degrees (high altitude). AWESOME!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Used this recipe for Thanksgiving 2012. It was easy and delicious! Very juicy, and the gravy was great! This will be my default turkey recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States