Juicy Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
OK - if you are like me, you will look at the ingredients and instructions for this receipe and say to yourself "Jeez people, what is the big deal?" Well- don't do it. I chose this receipe simply because I had a whole chicken, not a lot of time, and needed to cook it. I have NO idea why the combination of these ingredients or this cooking method (I followed it EXACTLY as written, but used real butter) yields such a wonderfully TASTY bird...but it does! If you don't try this, you're missing out. If you do try this, I venture to say that, you will be very pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3836 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
O.k. Back again - I entered a chicken cook off and used your recipe. Didnt change anything on the recipe. i won first prize out of about 50 entries. I got a nice plaque and trophy, a little prize money. Best part was the honor of it all. just wanted you to know your recipe is BLUE RIBBON>>>>>!!!! congrats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
one bad review listed for my grandma's recipe says the recipe calls for too much butter. the recipe has no butter in it. I have tried this recipe with promise lite spread and it came out juicy as ever. Recipe calls for margarine and I am happy to say low fat or lite works just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINROCKINGBIRD

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
I used the advice that the reviewer on the recipe page said: Use in combination with Moist Garlic Chicken. I sliced 8 garlic cloves and put in cavity, under skin and on top YUM! I also sliced 2 small lemons and put one in cavity and the other on top. Put 1/4 cup butter in cavity and 1/4 cup sliced butter on top. Put cut celery in cavity, and then salt/peppered all over. Roasted for 2 hours - turned out perfect. The GRAVY was AWESOME!! Some flour with the oils, then chicken broth and all the browned bits from the pan and juices from carving. This was my first roast chicken. Will make over and over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
592 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liddie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
I used a combination of 2 recipies from this site. This one and "Moist Garlic Roasted Chicken". It turned out perfectly. For my seasoning I used garlic powder (instead of onion) and lots of salt and pepper both on the outside, and in the cavity. Next time I will probably add some rosemary. The other recipe called for stuffing the cavity with lemon slices and garlic gloves. The flavours were great, and it turned out really juicy. Thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
554 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My family and i absolutely love this recipe!We have made it 7 times and it has never failed us! We added a some garlic powder the second time and it made the worlds diff. My family and i arent big on white meat but when we make this recipe no one knows witch is witch ! I most definetely would recommend this recipe to anyone !We also added rosemarry,onions,onion powder,mushrooms,and celery and came out even better !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
best chicken I ever had, so juicy. My sister-in-law literally sucked the meat right off the chicken. Thanks for the wonderful recipe. Also, I was out of the onion powder and so I used garlic powder instead, I also lifted the skin on the breasts and massaged some butter under it, makes the skin crispy. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I beg you to try this one as written! Don't be one of those fools who write, what a delicious recipe! Then they proceed to tell you about the 1oo herbs and spices they added to this recipe. LIke I always say - if ya change the recipe that is nice - probably delicious - but it aint't the same recipe no more. This one is delicious - keep your hands off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
great recipe. though i had to use different ingredients to season the chicken. i didn't use salt and pepper. i used Cajun seasoning and rubbed it outside and inside the chicken. i stuffed the butter/margarine inside the cavity like how it says in the recipe but instead of using onion powder, i stuffed onion wedges inside the chicken instead. i also aded crushed garlic cloves and about 2-3 sprigs of rosemary. if you're lazy to baste chicken, you can inject olive oil (or garlic infused olive oil) in the breast and the thigh to make it really really moist. it's such a no-brainer. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericaa.

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I made a few modifications to this. I lifted the skin over the breasts, and added a slice of sweet onion, then prepared as written. It turned out VERY moist and flavorful; even the daughter who's not keen on chicken has asked for this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Four Oaks, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States