Juicy Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I used two chickens from Costco, roasted them about 1 hour 50 minutes, when cool took the meat off of the bones, simmered the bones and skin in chicken broth, i use just Aldies chicken broth, and drippings that were in the pan. (don't use water) simmer about 1 1/2 hours, or till meat and bones flavor the broth. I then I strained the broth for my soup. Be sure to used the drippings. I continued to make my soup, I added onions celery carrots, when veg's were done I added rice or noodles and some of the meat. It makes a lot, so I freeze some of the broth and add the rice or noodles or whatever I'm in the mood for when I take it from the freezer you will never have better soup, but don't skim off all of the chicken fat, that is what makes it good and cures a cold. (you can indulge one in awhile)I have a food saver so I freeze the broth in a plastic container and when it is frozen solid I remove from the container and vacuum pack it. I usually freeze 4 cup containers because it it just two of us. I also cube the cooked meat that I removed from the bones and vacuum pack that in two or three cup packages for further casserole. The only way to make good chicken soup is to roast the chicken. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
It was nothing special, won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deborah Ann
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I made this last night for my family and only change I did was add garlic powder as I did not have onion powder. My roasted chicken came out so moist and tender and so good. This is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Like many other reviewers, I found the cooking time to be inaccurate on this recipe. Allowing the chicken to rest for 30 minutes (as indicated in the recipe) just gave it enough time to turn gelatinous, fatty, buttery. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This chicken was the best I've ever made! I purchased a pre-brined organic roasting chicken from Trader Joes and followed the recipe to the letter. I did sprinkle on a bit of garlic powder and paprika in addition to the onion powder. Super juicy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
i rarely rate a recipe, but this chicken is fantastic, so easy and de-lish. i also used garlic powder instead of onion powder. my bird was almost 4 pounds, i cooked it for about an hour and 45 minutes. really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Yes, wow, a great roasted chicken. I mean, I'm throwing out other recipes here! This will be my go-to from now on. I did add lemon rind to the cavity but only because I had one to get rid of. It added a nice scent to the kitchen besides the mouth-watering roasted chicken scent. I put a few cloves of garlic in the pan and took them out and added them to my mashed potatoes after about 1 hour of cooking. Oh yeah, I used butter not that fake stuff. Enjoy, we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I've never made a roasted chicken or gravy before.. and both were incredible! My family couldn't believe it. "This is fall off the bone good"..."This is restaurant good". I added a few things.. I used 8 cloves of garlic (sliced), half of them in the cavity and half on top of the chicken. I also used 2 lemons (sliced): one inside the cavity and one on top of the chicken. I also increased the butter amount to 2 sticks of butter (sliced)-one under the skin and the other on top. The only thing that was not perfect was the time it took.. The smallest chicken I could find was 4.79 pounds and it took 2.75 hours to cook.. but it was well worth the wait. The gravy was scrumptious too: After removing the chicken from the pan, I put the pan on the stove top on Med heat. I mixed in 2 tablespoons of flour and a cup of chicken broth and stirred until it was starting to come to a boil. It was so yummy! I will make this again and again. Everyone loved it, even my picky picky 5 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Delicious tasty easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Western, New York, USA
Living In: Bellefontaine, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,593) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States