Juicy Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
This was the best, easiest and most delicious chicken I have ever made. My husband loved it and he is not usually a roast chicken fan. Will definitely make this again. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
As another reviewer said, don't be fooled by how simple this is! This is the best roast chicken and so easy. I find seasoning the cavity a challenge (what do you do, stick your whole hand in there? Throw the salt and hope it covers evenly?) so what I do is melt the butter (sorry, I don't use margarine) and drizzle that over the chopped celery. I then season the chopped celery (butter makes seasoning stick nicely) and stuff the bird with the seasoned celery. I make sure chicken's skin is dry before I pour a little more melted butter on and rub that around. Season the skin (I use a generous amount of good kosher salt or coarse ground sea salt). I start the chicken in a 400 degree oven to crisp up the skin then reduce to 350 after just 15 minutes, and roast 20 mins per pound at 350. Crispy golden skin, moist even in the breast. A few times I've added chopped onion inside rather than onion powder, and the last time I just used celery and salt and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Incredibly tender, juicy and delicious! I made just as is with two necessary exceptions: first, I was cooking a 5.5 lb. chicken, so I added 1 hour to the cooking time. And second, the recipe calls for cooking this to an internal temperature of 180 and that is actually going to overcook your chicken. 165 is perfectly and safely cooked, so check and take your chicken out when the thermometer reads about 160 degrees. Then let the chicken rest for about 20 minutes and it will finish cooking to a perfect 165.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Wow - this is truly the juiciest chicken I have ever had. We will have this ofen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Faith N
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. Only thing in the recipe I changed was we omitted the celery as no one here eats it. The rest we followed as is. For me it was hard to carve (it was so tender and juicy, it just shredded to bits.) The skin had a wonderful flavor that went along well with the meat. Next time I'll use a little more seasoning to see if we can get it to permeate the meat better & add some potatoes to get a full meal out of it. Definitely a keeper and a great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I added 30 min to my 5.5 lb chicken and it was still very undercooked. Added another 30 minutes and some parts were still undercooked. Other than that, the meat was moist and flavorful. Will use a little less pepper next time, too spicy for my toddler boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
It was just as juicy as the recipe claimed. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracycarr
Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Made this recipe several times & love it. I find it just as good without adding butter. I now put chunks of celery, onion & lemons in the cavity after seasoning & before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katswirlz
Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
This recipe is so simple and so delicious! It is a big hit in family! I have a house full of picky eaters, so finding something they all love is a challenge. Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrislynnp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Very good. My cooking time was a little longer for a five pound bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States