Juicy Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is fantastic - I've made roast chicken dozens of times but will rate this five stars for the EASE + deliciousness of the end result. Used butter in place of margarine, and was very generous when salting, peppering and onion powdering the bird. Basted every 20 minutes. The highlights: the tasty, crispy skin at the end, and the milk gravy made with the drippings. To make gravy (DONT skip this!! You'll be glad you didn't): after letting chicken sit for 30 mins, transfer it to a plate and scrape all remaining brown bits and drippings into skillet. In a separate bowl (or mason jar with lid), mix 1 1/2 cups whole milk and 2 tbsp. flour together until blended. Pour into skillet with drippings and whisk constantly over medium heat. When bubbles appear, continue whisking for another minute then remove from heat. Taste and adjust seasoning as needed (mine needed salt). The gravy is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkgreco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Tastes like chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Simple, tasty, love it!!!!!! I've made this recipe several times. The only thing I change is I use butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Super easy roasted chicken. One change that I did, was to add a lemon to the cavity along with the celery and used Smart Balance light instead of butter. Rave reviews and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Nice and juicy! It did take longer to roast by about 20 minutes. My dad used to say he won't eat bird unless it's cooked so long it's falling apart. I believe over cooking makes chicken dry, so I try to cook until done but no longer than that. I guess the thermometer is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This recipe is a new family favorite! It's flavorful, juicy and fall off the bone! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made this for the people I care for. I rarely have chicken at home because my huband hates chicken, I love it, so my chicken skill vary. This recipe was simple and delish. This time I have added sprigs of rosemary. So juicy and tender. TY for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
The best! I have made this too many times to count. The only time it didn't turn out was because I didn't follow the recipe's cooking time properly. I've never made that mistake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The absolute best roasts chicken recipe ever!!! So simple and so delicious. Do not need to modify the recipe at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Made this for Sunday dinner and it is great. Easy to make with simple ingredients. Only change we made was substitute garlic powder for the onion mainly because kids hate onion or even the hint of it but they love anything garlic and used butter instead of margarine. Other than that, did exactly what the recipe called for. Smelled wonderful cooking and it is the juiciest, most tender chicken I have ever had. Leftovers will make great sandwiches and salads. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,652) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States