Juicy Peach Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Yum! Exactly what I was looking for. I also substituted 1/2 of the flour for oatmeal, used 1/2 the white sugar, and 1/2 the butter. Will definitely be a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
honestly the best dessert i've ever had. amaaaaaaaaaaaaazing. just added a little vanilla but other than that, no changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My husband took one bite, then looked at me and pronounced that it was "dangerous." He didn't speak again until the bowl was licked clean. Success! I blanched the peaches to peel them, as some suggested (drop in hot water, then icy water). I used about 3/4 cup sugar rather than the full cup. I also used vanilla extract instead of almond (that's what I had), added a sprinkle of lemon juice to the fruit, and added about 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the topping. I think I might try replacing some of the flour with oats, as some suggested - I forgot until after the flour was measured. Thanks for this! Super easy, super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was wonderful, I made the topping with half quick oats and half flour as suggested by some reviewers, and I used 7 peaches and that made more than enough peach filling. I did sprinkle a bit of nutmeg over the peaches, and sprinkled the peaches with a spoonful of cornstarch to thicken a bit. The peaches were sweet and juicy, the topping had the perfect sweet crunchy goodness. Served warm with melty vanilla ice cream ~ WOW what a way to celebrate summer !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Simply amazing! I didn't have almond extract so I left that out, and I used about 3/4 cup brown sugar. And about 8-9 peaches. The teenagers are gobbling it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Howard City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
excellent recipe exactly as posted. Second time I made it, I used double the almond extract and added toasted almond slices, which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
holy yummy!!! but i did add more peaches because 6 peaches barely covered the bottom of the dish. i did 10 peaches and glad i did because the topping made a lot and the ratio of topping to peaches wouldnt have been right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
This was easy, not a lot of ingredients, and came together quickly. I had a handful of almost over ripe peaches which were sweet and juicy. It was a huge hit, even without the almond extract -- turned out I didn't have that, but no one missed it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Tried it last night, it was awesome. I followed everything, and it came out perfect. Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
The filling for the peach crisp was so juicy that I added a Tablespoon of flour, but it was not enough. It was still so juicy that the topping wasn't as crisp as I would have liked because of all the juice bubbling up. Along with the flour I used half vanilla bean paste and half almond extract and a splash of lemon in the filling; it was purely delicious with the natural goodness of the peaches shining through. I am glad that I resisted the urge to add cinnamon. I subbed oats for some of the flour in the topping and added some extra Penzey’s cinnamon. I think that I would have enjoyed this more with a thicker layer of topping so I will increase the amount next time. Peach season is worth the wait when you can showcase one of nature’s most delicious fruits in this crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Crisp III

Granola and oats combine with fresh peaches in this 5-star dessert.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Cookie-Crusted Peach Cobbler

What's cooking in Hagerstown? Cindy's ultimate summer dessert, peach cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States